XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Fuel pump relay

 
  #1  
Old 04-24-2019, 12:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 45
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Fuel pump relay

So my plan is to change out the fuel pump and filter. If I have it right, to depressurize you pull the relay in the black holder, not the red one. Crank it over and you're ready to go. I tried that but the engine keeps running..and running. No sign of it wanting to quit. What did I miss?
 
  #2  
Old 04-24-2019, 02:05 PM
Crackerbuzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 257
Received 57 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

I pulled the cables off the pump. Wrapped them in a rag to prevent sparks, then started the engine until she stutters. Then turned it off.

Worked for me.

Craig
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-2019, 03:02 PM
orangeblossom's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: uk
Posts: 15,614
Received 2,102 Likes on 1,622 Posts
Default

Hi Jag-reflex

How long did you let her run for?
 
  #4  
Old 04-24-2019, 03:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 45
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

A few minutes at least..not long enough?
 
  #5  
Old 04-24-2019, 03:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 45
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Crackerbuzz View Post
I pulled the cables off the pump. Wrapped them in a rag to prevent sparks, then started the engine until she stutters. Then turned it off.

Worked for me.

Craig
Sure, that would definitely do it, but so should the relay pull..I'm wondering why it doesn't. Push comes to shove i will follow your example, but I'd rather understand the puzzle too.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-2019, 03:32 PM
orangeblossom's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: uk
Posts: 15,614
Received 2,102 Likes on 1,622 Posts
Default

Maybe you didn't have her running for quite long enough?
 
  #7  
Old 04-24-2019, 03:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 45
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Possibly I guess, but i would have thought less than a minute with no pump running. I will give it another go in the morning. ..
 
  #8  
Old 04-24-2019, 03:55 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,289
Received 456 Likes on 312 Posts
Default

You might check if a previous owner or mechanic may have modified the relay circuit as mentioned in this post:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...0/#post2058300

Might explain your circumstance.
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-2019, 04:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 45
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I have the 16CU so no reason for someone to do that, which doesn't mean it wasn't done of course. I will check that, thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 04-24-2019, 08:53 PM
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Adelaide Stralia
Posts: 19,417
Received 5,741 Likes on 4,120 Posts
Default

With the Black socket relay pulled, a few seconds is all you will get.

My thoughts:

Someone has bridged the actual Black Block, on the underside, to run that pump whenever the Ignition is ON. Reasons, NO IDEA, other than issues and did so for diagnostics and forgot to remove.

Earthing that Orange wire will only work to run the pump whenever the Ignition is ON, IF the relay is installed, so even with that, pulling the relay will kill the pump.

The relay in the Red socket is the Main relay, and that operates the Pump relay, the ECU, etc etc, so pulling that will NOT start the engine, as the ECU is dead.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Grant Francis:
Greg in France (04-25-2019), jag-reflex (04-25-2019)
  #11  
Old 04-25-2019, 11:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 45
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Yes. found the jumper wire underneath. thanks Grant
 
The following users liked this post:
Grant Francis (04-25-2019)
  #12  
Old 04-25-2019, 02:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 45
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

So I swapped out the fuel pump and filter. Popped the relay back in and cranked..no start. Reconnected the jumper wire and fired right up. I'll pick up a new relay next..

Thanks to all who chimed in on this thread.

Edit: new relay fixed it. Stupid jumper wire now in the bin. ta-dum
 

Last edited by jag-reflex; 04-25-2019 at 03:24 PM. Reason: addendum
The following 2 users liked this post by jag-reflex:
Grant Francis (04-25-2019), Greg in France (04-26-2019)
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AZ RICH
XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 )
3
06-12-2018 01:35 PM
NTL1991
XJ40 ( XJ81 )
0
02-29-2016 05:56 PM
Saemetric
XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III
2
12-05-2014 05:56 PM
Civicalized
XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III
0
09-01-2011 11:40 PM
Bowmanconsult
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
8
09-10-2009 10:36 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Fuel pump relay


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: