XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Help XJS won't start

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2013, 07:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help XJS won't start

as some know im new to jaguar I need help I bought the 91 xjs I was talking about she has sat for 5-6 years on a trailer in a garage. well I thought what the hay I would put a battery in her and see what happened well she cranks lol but nothing in the line of tring to start. I need to know which way the fuel filter goes the jag didn't have one?????? does the flow go from passanger side to drivers side and is that the only fuel filter I need help with this folks lol. the car is real nice for a 91 and only showing 41k on the clock if I cant get it running this weekend shes for sale lol. black with tan interior and black convertible top. One more thing can I unhook the fuel line in the back and let the pump run to drain old gas out of tank????

I've edited your title to try ang get better results......HELP doesn't really tell the story
Good luck

Old 11-01-2013, 08:14 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Originally Posted by wssjonboy
I need to know which way the fuel filter goes the jag didn't have one??????

Really? What happened to it, I wonder? You looked behind the spare tire?

does the flow go from passanger side to drivers side and is that the only fuel filter

I can't remember the direction but, yes, there's only one *external* filter.

The small gasoline sump tank below the battery has a screen type filter on the pick-up. They often clog. You'll want to get in there and check it out after draining the fuel.

One more thing can I unhook the fuel line in the back and let the pump run to drain old gas out of tank????
Sure!

Cheers
DD

Old 11-01-2013, 08:21 PM
Default re doug