XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Live And Learn

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2015, 11:10 PM
Veteran Member
Received 8,935 Likes on 5,285 Posts
Default Live And Learn

I had a conversation recently with someone for whom I have deep respect, and the subject of V12s came up. I mentioned I had no desire to own one for several reasons:

1) They have a Terrible reputation for almost everything almost everywhere except in XJS forums

2) V12s are not known for great fuel economy,

3) Parts are expensive and not readily available (certainly not like Chevy parts for example),

4) I've never seen one for real as they're scarce in these parts,

5) I don't know that I've ever heard one outside of a televised Le Mans or such,

6) There is no one close by who could teach me to properly care for one as I have NO experience with such temperamental machinery,

7) From reading in here and other XJS forums it seems owners tinker with their engines way more than they drive them. However, this could be because those driving their cars have neither time nor reason to post so I'll back down a bit from that one.

After rattling off some of these, I could tell that he was Seriously disappointed with my attitude. Husband said I should at least find out what one sounds like so I searched YouTube and found the clip below. It's 32 minutes long but it's pretty good, although it's another race and not indicative of real world conditions.

But, after watching this I may have to modify my opinion.
(';')

Old 07-16-2015, 12:58 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,749 Likes on 7,100 Posts

Great video :-) The sound is a bit intoxicating.

I think Jag V12 are really cool engines. I love 'em. Quirky, but the learning curve makes the rewards that much more satisfying. I'm on my second V12 Jag right now.....and perfectly comfortable working on it.