Go Back  Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Jaguar Models ( Classics ) > XJS ( X27 )
Reload this Page >

Need Connector for Lucas Ignition Amplifier

XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Need Connector for Lucas Ignition Amplifier

 
  #1  
Old 05-01-2016, 07:58 PM
Safari's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 751
Received 294 Likes on 201 Posts
Default Need Connector for Lucas Ignition Amplifier

Hello All,

I'm looking for a source for the connector that goes from the Lucas Ignition Amplifier to the Distributor (Dizzy). (see photo below)




I plan to reproduce the Amp to Distributor harness (DAC3247) but I need to identify the connector and where I can buy them in quantities. I'm assuming that Amp or Tyco might make them but I cant seem to find the correct part.

Anyone know the manufacturer or part number of the connector? Or where I can buy them?

Thanks!

Mark
 
  #2  
Old 05-02-2016, 03:42 AM
warrjon's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vic Australia
Posts: 4,552
Received 2,450 Likes on 1,654 Posts
Default

I think your chances of finding this connector new is not good. What you can do is use a new male/female connector pair and solder wires into the old plug, fill the old plug with epoxy potting compound (you can get this from RS or E14). Crimp the existing harness to the new connector and you're good to go.
 
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #3  
Old 05-02-2016, 04:47 AM
Safari's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 751
Received 294 Likes on 201 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by warrjon View Post
I think your chances of finding this connector new is not good. What you can do is use a new male/female connector pair and solder wires into the old plug, fill the old plug with epoxy potting compound (you can get this from RS or E14). Crimp the existing harness to the new connector and you're good to go.
Hi Warren,

I appreciate your suggestion, which would be fine if I was only looking to fix one harness, but that is not what I am looking for. My intention is to reproduce the harness in quantities. As such, I need quantities of connectors.

Given that this connector mates with a standard GM HEI Ignition Module there should be a GM connector available, its just a matter of identifying it.

The search continues.

Thanks!

Mark
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-2016, 11:20 AM
Jagboi64's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,178
Received 1,106 Likes on 824 Posts
Default

Looking at RockAuto I see it as part of the pick up coil for $10, but I don't see that plug available individually.
More Information for AIRTEX / WELLS 9B1
 
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #5  
Old 05-02-2016, 12:19 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,147
Received 6,544 Likes on 4,856 Posts
Default

*At a glance* it looks awfully similar to and old-style GM alternator connector, late 70s thru 80s, internal regulator type alternator.

Might be worth checking?

Cheers
DD
 

Last edited by Doug; 05-02-2016 at 12:21 PM. Reason: old age, poor memory, confused
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #6  
Old 05-02-2016, 12:20 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,147
Received 6,544 Likes on 4,856 Posts
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #7  
Old 05-03-2016, 04:18 PM
Safari's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 751
Received 294 Likes on 201 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Doug View Post
Hi Doug,

I checked out one of the Dorman connectors but it is just a little too wide to fit into the amplifier.

I appreciate your suggestion. It was close! I will keep looking.

Thanks!

Mark
 

Last edited by Safari; 05-03-2016 at 04:21 PM.
  #8  
Old 05-03-2016, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 792
Received 117 Likes on 91 Posts
Default

Perhaps Lucus could provide the manufacturer of that part, since they don't make the amp any more.
 
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #9  
Old 05-04-2016, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairbury, Nebraksa
Posts: 784
Received 282 Likes on 201 Posts
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #10  
Old 05-04-2016, 08:08 PM
Safari's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 751
Received 294 Likes on 201 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by daverb View Post
I have looked at that connector but it wont work. The latch in not correct for the Lucas amp.

Here is a photo of the amp port (all dimensions in inches);







You can see how the latch would engage at the bottom of the slot and leave a small tab extended out so the connector can be removed.

No replies from a message sent to Lucas. I guess its too old for them to be concerned about.

Mark
 

Last edited by Safari; 05-04-2016 at 08:14 PM.
  #11  
Old 05-04-2016, 09:45 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,147
Received 6,544 Likes on 4,856 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Safari View Post
No replies from a message sent to Lucas. I guess its too old for them to be concerned about.

Mark

Do some Googling using "Rists wiring connectors" or similar.

Most Jag wiring of the era was manufactured by Rists....which was owned by Lucas but technically a different company. The automotive operations of Lucas were sold off years ago and are now being made by some other company (Elko or something like that) under the Lucas brand name.

But....who knows what became of Rists, specifically? Maybe they still have info on older stuff?

Might be worth a try?

Cheers
DD
 
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #12  
Old 05-05-2016, 11:54 PM
Metaxalone's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 202
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Safari View Post
Hi Doug,

I checked out one of the Dorman connectors but it is just a little too wide to fit into the amplifier.

I appreciate your suggestion. It was close! I will keep looking.

Thanks!

Mark

Just so you know, I had the same issue, as mine crumbled in my hand when I tried to remove mine. I used this same connector, found at the parts store that I frequent( AdvancedAuto ) and all I did was use a flat file on the top casing of the ICM- on the sides of the connector hole, and mine works fine. Just remember which wires go to what.

I filed my sides of the top piece to the width the connector would go in..
I then plugged the amp into the connector.
Then I tightened the amp down.
Next after all the pieces are in order inside the case, I then put the bottom on the casem with the plug latch behind the lower plate's lip and tightened it down.

There shouldn't be any reason to pull the plug out so there is no need to worry about that clip. If you want to, you can just break the clip off so you can pull the plug out if need be.

Hope this helps.
 
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #13  
Old 05-06-2016, 10:25 AM
Safari's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 751
Received 294 Likes on 201 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Metaxalone View Post
Just so you know, I had the same issue, as mine crumbled in my hand when I tried to remove mine. I used this same connector, found at the parts store that I frequent( AdvancedAuto ) and all I did was use a flat file on the top casing of the ICM- on the sides of the connector hole, and mine works fine. Just remember which wires go to what.

I filed my sides of the top piece to the width the connector would go in..
I then plugged the amp into the connector.
Then I tightened the amp down.
Next after all the pieces are in order inside the case, I then put the bottom on the casem with the plug latch behind the lower plate's lip and tightened it down.

There shouldn't be any reason to pull the plug out so there is no need to worry about that clip. If you want to, you can just break the clip off so you can pull the plug out if need be.

Hope this helps.

Hi Mick,

I appreciate your suggestion and I'm sure it will be helpful information to others but as I mentioned before, my goal is to reproduce the harness in quantities and sell to other XJS owners.

Most customers expect a plug-and-play, OEM equivalent solution. I cannot expect them to modify their car to use the harness.

So my search continues....

Thanks!

Mark
 
  #14  
Old 05-06-2016, 01:14 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France
Posts: 9,032
Received 4,509 Likes on 2,880 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Safari View Post
Most customers expect a plug-and-play, OEM equivalent solution. I cannot expect them to modify their car to use the harness. So my search continues....

Mark quite a number of UK cars used this Lucas amplifier, it was use on 6 and 8 cylinder cars. Well worth asking some of the suppliers. For instance:
Lucas DAB111 48038A electronic ignition amplifier AB14
Ther is a is a TR discussion also if you google Lucas AB14, it uses the same plug to connect the dizzy to the amp. Lucas electronic distributor. - TR7/8 Forum - TR Register Forum
You could try TRGB, or google for TR specialists. Lotus also used it on some models, so a lotus specialist would know where replacement dizzies come from. The LUCAS 43DM4 DISTRIBUTOR used the AB 14 amp, this was used in lots of cars in the 1970s in the UK, MG migets, Minis, all sorts. Even some Jeeps it seems:
Lucas AB14 - Pt# 48039A Electronic Ignition Amplifier. - Jeep Cherokee Forum
All of these cars had a lead that replicates the jaguar lead from the blue dizzy plug to the amp side.

Also, BINGO:
http://cbradleymotorsport.co.uk/elec...ead-rotar.html
here is a supplier who have a kit containing the piece you want, in grey in the middle! A little pricey the whole thing, but a little Western Charm and they will tell you where they gat the lead made, I am sure!
And this lot sell just the lead:
http://www.bighealey.co.uk/formula-j...ad-fj-feli230l
Greg
 

Last edited by Greg in France; 05-06-2016 at 01:19 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by Greg in France:
Doug (05-06-2016), Safari (05-06-2016)
  #15  
Old 05-06-2016, 01:44 PM
rgp
rgp is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: warwick
Posts: 1,079
Received 190 Likes on 155 Posts
Default

I have chased every avenue regarding plugs and leads for this amp, they were fitted to lotus and mgs triumphs the list goes on and I found no one except just xjs in burton on trent who had a "good" used one (in his opinion) having used him b4 and the price he was asking I didn't bother, you could try simply performance in Beare Green Dorking
they are like your grublogger on steroids
please let us know if you find a sub.
 

Last edited by rgp; 05-06-2016 at 03:29 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Safari (05-06-2016)
  #16  
Old 05-08-2016, 06:09 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I need that cable you're talking about. Have you been able to reproduce it?
 
  #17  
Old 05-08-2016, 06:59 PM
Safari's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 751
Received 294 Likes on 201 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ratfink View Post
I need that cable you're talking about. Have you been able to reproduce it?
Not yet. I'm still tying to find a source for the connector that goes to the amplifier. Once I have that then reproducing the harness will be pretty straight forward.

If you need one now take a look at the links that were provided by "Greg in France". One or two of those companies appear to have harnesses to sell.

Mark

PS...thanks Greg for the leads! The info you provided might help lead to a source for the connector.
 
  #18  
Old 05-09-2016, 01:29 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France
Posts: 9,032
Received 4,509 Likes on 2,880 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Safari View Post
PS...thanks Greg for the leads! The info you provided might help lead to a source for the connector.
Mark, I do not want to teach my Granpa how to suck eggs, but dealing with the UK, for firms like these, the best idea is to call them up on the 'phone, explain that you are in the USA and not after their MG/TR business, and chat them up and ask who makes their looms, specifically the one in the photo you need. Then get to this loom firm and ask them where they get the connector.
Greg
 
  #19  
Old 05-11-2016, 11:58 PM
Metaxalone's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 202
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Yeah because I contacted the company Greg mentioned and they said they would sell the look for 27.00 which would pretty much be $40 bucks for us in the states, not including shipping. Retarded for 2 wires and a connector......

My setup works just fine and looks original so I'm not wasting $40 on "a connector." Hope you find out where to get these connectors and what not. I have also put in an email to a place here in the states for the part request and maker. I will send ya a message if I hear anything.

 
  #20  
Old 12-17-2016, 09:31 AM
rgp
rgp is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: warwick
Posts: 1,079
Received 190 Likes on 155 Posts
Default

had 2 of these remanufactured, if you want one for cost plus postage let me know
 
Attached Thumbnails Need Connector for Lucas Ignition Amplifier-100_1814.jpg  

Last edited by rgp; 12-17-2016 at 12:47 PM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Need Connector for Lucas Ignition Amplifier


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: