XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Noise at pull away

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2016, 09:41 PM
Veteran Member
Received 814 Likes on 515 Posts
Default Noise at pull away

This doesn't happen all the time, and sometimes it is difficult to replicate while other times I can. Basically, when it occurs, there is a noise which seems in between a click and clunk as I take off from a full stop.

The weird thing is that the origin of the noise seems to move. Sometimes I'm certain it is from around the left rear wheel, while others I think it is from the front of the transmission.

I put the XJS on jack stands last week and tried to locate the cause. I couldn't find anything loose or out of sorts (but then I'm no expert).

After searching the archives, I may have a guess. I recently replaced the transmission mount, and in doing so, I had to drop a portion of the exhaust. I didn't realize until reading some threads that aligning the exhaust is a bit of a black art.

Is it possible that I did a poor job in returning the exhaust to position, that it would make noise sometimes in the rear and sometimes more forward? Would it make noise on take off?

Thanks

Old 07-01-2016, 01:29 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,089 Likes on 5,352 Posts

Either the exhaust, or also a possibility is the gearbox tail making contact with one of the fixing brackets. The rearmost one, if the box and both brackets are not perfectly aligned, can make contact with the tail.

The exhaust is of course just as likely a cause. My problem is that, having a 2 post lift (not grumbling, mind) the car is not on its wheels when I adjust the exhaust. And the way the exhaust hangs changes substantially when the car is back on it's wheels - just the same if up on a jack. Check for the pipes contacting the gearbox sump, the rear cage/calipers where it snakes through, and the exhaust tunnel sides.

Greg

The following 2 users liked this post by Greg in France:
Mac Allan (07-01-2016), orangeblossom (07-02-2016)