XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

xjs v12 common faults,

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2011, 06:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default xjs v12 common faults,

i have a jag xjs v12 1989 with 31,000 miles on it, its a 2 seater convertible, basically my grandad brought it from new and about 9 years ago stop driving it due to somone telling him in a garage it needs a rebuild as there is oil in the coolant, im a tech my self but dont no much about these cars and its still sitting over his garage and i would love to get this up and running again no matter what it takes i have done alot or searchin about these cars about them having cooling trouble, now im starting to think due to me working for vauxhalls that a engine that size and that low milage i cant see why the headgaskets would have failed, the guy he tok it to was rebuilding a simlar engine on a aston martin and said its common due to the lack of use, now i think thats rubbish as he always had it serviced ect, i no it never over heated, but i found out about the rads being a let down and also no the tranny rad shares the same as the coolant rad its possible that the rads gone and theyve mixed ????? what are the common faults and how could i be so sure i dont want to have to start taking the sump off checking bearings ect to check for damage if the coolant has got in the system, or maybe the oil coolers gone and mixed the coolant with oil and made it look like a headgasket, but he did say that he remembers when he drove it back from that garage 9 years ago the light came on and it didnt start again, i dont no about the managment system on these but could if have been a warning light and it needs clearing to be safe before it fires again, as i know its a old car but heard its got a clever managment system like modern cars