XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Anyone track their XKR?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2012, 09:55 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Anyone track their XKR?

I have been doing HPDE's for more than 10 years and I am looking to get an '08 XKR. I would likely want to take it to the track and was wondering if anyone tracked their car and how it did at the track?

Old 02-12-2012, 10:19 AM
Veteran Member
Received 325 Likes on 201 Posts

You may not get much (any?) feedback since this is very much a luxurious cruising GT. Lots of guys here with track experience in other cars, but not their XKR's it seems...possibly with good reason!

I've seen repeated feedback that the '07-09 XKR's have a fair bit of body lean on public roads which doesn't bode well for cornering demands on the track. Brakes would be a weak spot likely unless you found an '08 with the optional Alcon brakes. I note these because I see you upgraded both of them on your NSX, and suspension and brakes generally top the upgrade path for most cars when improved performance is desired. Three track buddies had fun with their NSX's when bone stock, but upgraded to hardcore suspension as they upgraded their driving skills, along with track brake pads. Would you be satisfied with the NSX on the track if you went back to it's stock suspension and brakes? Unlikely I'm guessing

The XKR is heavy, the '07-09 don't have limited slip, and the front engine/rear wheel drive all conspire to reduce cornering performance from turn-in to exit, especially compared to what you are used to with the NSX. You'd likely find rear grip also a challenge under throttle, and researching a wider/stickier tire to fit the stock rims, or upgraded wheel package would be worthwhile.

I'm not sure how well the stock air to water intercooler's efficiency would stand up on the track, or any of the fluid temps for that matter, but I suspect not great as with most street cars.