XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Fuel additives?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2017, 12:42 PM
Received 22 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Fuel additives?

Since I'm a Newbie jaguar/XKR owner, 2011 convertible, I was wondering if it's a good idea to add a can of Techron, or one of the other fuel additives, to an occasional tank of gas to help keep injectors clean? In the past I've used it on other cars, seemed to help. Any thoughts on the subject?

The following users liked this post:
JagRag (08-14-2017)
Old 08-11-2017, 12:52 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,197 Likes on 931 Posts

I use Techron once or twice a year without ever an issue.

MartynL (08-11-2017)
Old 08-11-2017, 12:52 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,380 Likes on 1,607 Posts

Techron excellent idea
I would advise against others.

Take note that you are going to be diluting oil so, change the oil after 3 bottles.
Or you can double up a month before the oil change.

Shell gasoline's 93 has a very good additive in it- but its more expensive in the long run than techron, but more convenient and there is no need to worry about pacing the dosage

MartynL (08-11-2017)
Old 08-11-2017, 12:55 PM

I may try and go the Shell gas route, more convenient than adding cans. same with my other cars. Thanks.

Old 08-11-2017, 05:53 PM
Received 2,255 Likes on 1,840 Posts

Originally Posted by MartynL
I may try and go the Shell gas route, more convenient than adding cans. same with my other cars. Thanks.
Save your money. The days when pump gas needed 'help' are long gone. Jag specifically cautions against using additives in the fuel or oil.

I know of no fuel brand that does not already contain more than enough additives in the correct amounts to consistently ward off potential issues. More is not better but just represents wasted money and illustrates the power of marketing.

The much promoted Top Tier marketing scheme was subjected to long term test and was found to have minimal or no advantage even in the worst possible scenario.