XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Headlights and other lighting questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2022, 07:38 PM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Headlights and other lighting questions

I am a newbie to the wonderful world of Jaguar having spent 30+ years driving Saabs. I have modified the lighting on my Saabs with additional driving lights and back-up lights -- all relay switched -- by simply tapping into the existing circuits to power the relays. This method has not overloaded existing circuitry and has had no impact on the working of the car's computer. However, I know NOTHING about the Jaguar wiring and the quirks of the electronics.

When I first drove the XK at night here in dark and rainy rural Oregon, I was distressed by how difficult it was to see and so I am looking for ideas for improving night lighting performance.

Because the air is so moist here in the winter, the 6000K HID lights scatter badly creating a visual "haze" and limiting visibility -- That can likely be partly solved by swapping out the bulbs for 4300K . The 4300K colour penetrates moist air better and cause less dazzle for other drivers which should help -- but I would like to add some sort of high intensity pencil beam lights (4300K or lower) for night driving OFF the freeway.

My lights are aimed higher than I like them and may be causing dazzle so I need to adjust them downwards -- but I read a post that suggested it was an electronic adjustment rather than a simple mechanical adjustment at the headlight assembly.???????