XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Help with P2098 code

 
  #1  
Old 07-08-2019, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 187
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Help with P2098 code


Hi guys... seems like I got the pesky p2098 CEL/code again. A little background info first. 2009 XK NA, 200 cell cats, Larini complete CAT back exhaust including XPIPE, ECU tune to address Hi Flow cats and low torque. Car has been running without any problems for the past month. Initially CEL came on but corrected after 2-300 miles of driving. I used OBD fusion app and got this. Since there is no voltage output on O2 sensor 1, Iím suspecting a faulty O2 sensor, but the car barely has 20k mikes. Any suggestions, inputs or Cristiana is welcomed and appreciated.

 

Last edited by badicedog; 07-08-2019 at 07:28 PM.
  #2  
Old 07-10-2019, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 187
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Can someone point me in the right direction to the downstream oxygen sensor #1?
 
  #3  
Old 07-13-2019, 01:24 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 418
Received 71 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by badicedog View Post
Can someone point me in the right direction to the downstream oxygen sensor #1?
.not sure which one , either righ or left I guess but 0 v ? Maybe its not pluged in properly?
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-2019, 02:07 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

P2098 is Bank 2 (after cat sensor)

Bank 2 is drivers side on LHD car

OBD Fusion is a good one to use but your input for each sensor has to be correct, May be check you have selected the correct input for this o2 sensor.

Easy to make a mistake as i have done this when monitoring the o2 sensor's.. (this wont change the fact you still have the P2098 code)
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-2019, 02:42 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 187
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by XKR-DAY View Post
P2098 is Bank 2 (after cat sensor)

Bank 2 is drivers side on LHD car

OBD Fusion is a good one to use but your input for each sensor has to be correct, May be check you have selected the correct input for this o2 sensor.

Easy to make a mistake as i have done this when monitoring the o2 sensor's.. (this wont change the fact you still have the P2098 code)
:How do I check the input for the correct O2 sensor? I replaced the downstream O2 senor on the drivers side. Code came back.
 
  #6  
Old 07-13-2019, 04:50 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

After replacing the bank 2 downstream 02 sensor dose your OBD Fusion still show 0v ?.....

When making a dashboard for the OBD Fusion you pick the display type then you pick from the sae pid's one of the many pid's for the thing you wish to monitor,
The pid's for o2 sensor's are many, some will work for your car and others dont, Just check that you have selected the one that works for your car.

As said this wont change the fact you are getting the P2098 code it will just let you monitor the o2 sensor's to give some indication of whats going on,
Also you should set up a dashboard for your fuel trims.

OBD Fusion (as are others) a good tool to have once you learn how to use all its functions and set the correct pid's for the car your using it on.

Sorry for using the word INPUT i should have said PID.
 
  #7  
Old 07-13-2019, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 187
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by XKR-DAY View Post
After replacing the bank 2 downstream 02 sensor dose your OBD Fusion still show 0v ?.....

When making a dashboard for the OBD Fusion you pick the display type then you pick from the sae pid's one of the many pid's for the thing you wish to monitor,
The pid's for o2 sensor's are many, some will work for your car and others dont, Just check that you have selected the one that works for your car.

As said this wont change the fact you are getting the P2098 code it will just let you monitor the o2 sensor's to give some indication of whats going on,
Also you should set up a dashboard for your fuel trims.

OBD Fusion (as are others) a good tool to have once you learn how to use all its functions and set the correct pid's for the car your using it on.

Sorry for using the word INPUT i should have said PID.
It still reads 0v, CEL came back like a rash...
 
  #8  
Old 07-13-2019, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

OK, I dont think you have your Fusion dashboard set correct.

Sensor 1 is the up stream heated wide band
Sensor 2 is the down stream narrow band

Then you have Bank 1 and Bank 2

You are reading 0v on the up stream wide band and this is not the 02 sensor that you changed or the one giving the P2098 code.
On your Fusion dashboard i cant tell if your o2 sensor 1 and sensor 2 are for bank 1 or 2 or a mix of both banks'

You need to create a new dashboard from the Fusion settings showing ..............

B1 o2 sensor 1
B1 o2 sensor 2

B2 o2 sensor 1
B2 o2 sensor 2

You can also create a new dashboard showing the fuel trims

B1 STFT
B1 LTFT

B2 STFT
B2 LTFT

Once you have set up both dashboards (and got them all working by choosing the correct pid's) you will gain a better under standing of the possible cause of your
P2098 code.

Hope this helps .
 
The following users liked this post:
badicedog (07-13-2019)
  #9  
Old 07-13-2019, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 187
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by XKR-DAY View Post
OK, I dont think you have your Fusion dashboard set correct.

Sensor 1 is the up stream heated wide band
Sensor 2 is the down stream narrow band

Then you have Bank 1 and Bank 2

You are reading 0v on the up stream wide band and this is not the 02 sensor that you changed or the one giving the P2098 code.
On your Fusion dashboard i cant tell if your o2 sensor 1 and sensor 2 are for bank 1 or 2 or a mix of both banks'

You need to create a new dashboard from the Fusion settings showing ..............

B1 o2 sensor 1
B1 o2 sensor 2

B2 o2 sensor 1
B2 o2 sensor 2

You can also create a new dashboard showing the fuel trims

B1 STFT
B1 LTFT

B2 STFT
B2 LTFT

Once you have set up both dashboards (and got them all working by choosing the correct pid's) you will gain a better under standing of the possible cause of your
P2098 code.

Hope this helps .
Thanks a million
 
  #10  
Old 07-13-2019, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

By the way, That looks like an awesome exhaust set up, And no doubt producing an awesome sound......

Just a thought on your P2098 code, may be having down stream o2 spacer fitted to pull the sensor out off the exhaust stream just a bit may help,
I think iv read some where when going from 400 cel to 200 cel this is what others have done.

Stick with learning the OBD Fusion dashboards as it is easy once you get over the learning curve and will change your understanding of the car,
 
The following users liked this post:
badicedog (07-13-2019)
  #11  
Old 07-13-2019, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 418
Received 71 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Never heard of obd fusion? How is it different than torque pro? I know i never messed with any pid on it as its preconfigured for most sensors already so o2s all read how it should out of the box
 
  #12  
Old 07-13-2019, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AlexJag View Post
Never heard of obd fusion? How is it different than torque pro? I know i never messed with any pid on it as its preconfigured for most sensors already so o2s all read how it should out of the box

It's no different to torque pro............
The SAE PIDs in obd fusion are also preconfigured and read how it should out of the box.
But fusion covers a lot of o2 out the box sensors and you just need to pick the one that works for your car,

OBD Fusion is American i believe and there is lots of online tutorials on how to set up and use this app, Also has good revue ratings (just like Torque pro will have)
Fusion have free updates with new out the box SAE PIDs that may or may not work for your car depending on year/model/etc/etc.
 
  #13  
Old 07-14-2019, 02:22 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 187
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Iíve looked extensively for any exhaust leaks, found none. Iím going back to basics and look at the air filter box. Hopefully that is the culprit of the P2098 code.
 
  #14  
Old 07-14-2019, 02:33 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 418
Received 71 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by badicedog View Post
Iíve looked extensively for any exhaust leaks, found none. Iím going back to basics and look at the air filter box. Hopefully that is the culprit of the P2098 code.
Your fuel trims are normal and if you head vacuum leaks you would have your front o2 sensors give codes as well. Maybe your wiring to rear o2 is unplugged or damaged, it should not be reading 0 volts
 
  #15  
Old 07-14-2019, 04:36 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Here are the OBD Fusion SAE PIDs that work with my o2 sensors.

For the upstream o2 sensors...
o2 sensor lambda wide range(current probe) (bank 1, sensor 1)
o2 sensor lambda wide range(current probe) (bank 2, sensor 1)

For the downstream o2 sensors...
o2 voltage (bank 1, sensor 2)
o2 voltage (bank 2, sensor 2)


When creating your dashboard for your o2 sensors, scroll down the sae pids until you find the above pids and select...
hope this helps.
 
The following users liked this post:
badicedog (07-14-2019)
  #16  
Old 07-14-2019, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 187
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by XKR-DAY View Post
Here are the OBD Fusion SAE PIDs that work with my o2 sensors.

For the upstream o2 sensors...
o2 sensor lambda wide range(current probe) (bank 1, sensor 1)
o2 sensor lambda wide range(current probe) (bank 2, sensor 1)

For the downstream o2 sensors...
o2 voltage (bank 1, sensor 2)
o2 voltage (bank 2, sensor 2)


When creating your dashboard for your o2 sensors, scroll down the sae pids until you find the above pids and select...
hope this helps.
will try this in the morning, thank you
 
  #17  
Old 07-14-2019, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AlexJag View Post
Your fuel trims are normal and if you head vacuum leaks you would have your front o2 sensors give codes as well. Maybe your wiring to rear o2 is unplugged or damaged, it should not be reading 0 volts
Its not the rear o2 (downstream o2) thats reading 0v
its one of his upstream o2,s (o2 sensor 1 is an upstream sensor)

It would be nice to see the LTFT,s for bank 2 with engine up to temp in park at 650rpm and also at 2500rpm,
The same for bank 1 even though the is no coad for bank 1................................................. ..............................
 
  #18  
Old 07-14-2019, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Hope this helps.

Just to show you what you can see with obd fusion ....
























.


 
The following users liked this post:
peterv8 (07-14-2019)
  #19  
Old 07-14-2019, 03:45 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,325
Received 3,441 Likes on 3,047 Posts
Default

Are they actually helping you fix the problem any more than (say) torque would?

I can see it would be easy to drown in data rather than useful information.
 
  #20  
Old 07-14-2019, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Durham......UK.
Posts: 106
Received 31 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JagV8 View Post
Are they actually helping you fix the problem any more than (say) torque would?

I can see it would be easy to drown in data rather than useful information.
NO Fusion wont fix the problem.......
But some useful information on the data you can get from Fusion might help point in the direction that may help fix the problem.(or not)
Also put some fun stuff in there to show the app isnt just for diagnostics.

I suppose instead of trying to help some one understand what there app is capable of, and how dashboards should be set, I could just sit back and do NOTHING.
 
The following users liked this post:
badicedog (07-15-2019)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Help with P2098 code


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: