XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

TPMS-Tire Pressure Monitoring Sensors

 
  #1  
Old 11-28-2013, 09:42 AM
richzak's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,285
Received 1,178 Likes on 777 Posts
Default TPMS-Tire Pressure Monitoring Sensors

I am purchasing new tires for my 2009 XKR. The tires have TPMS's.

When I go to replace the tires the tire dealer is going to rebuild the sensors and the rebuild kit was $18.00 for the 4 TPMS's.

Is there any thing I have to do for the car to pick up the sensor and provide a readout like programming.

This is the first time dealing with TPMS so I am new to the system and what is required to have them work and see the readout on the dash.

Any input is most welcome. Perhaps there are other XK/XKR owners who have went thru this process.

Thanks in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-2013, 09:52 AM
chazaroo's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,393
Received 112 Likes on 82 Posts
Default

I went through this a couple times with my 07 XK. Nothing needed to be done after they installed the tires and rebuilt sensors.Everything worked fine.
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-2013, 09:58 AM
ndy.boyd's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 476
Received 152 Likes on 98 Posts
Default

I've never heard of "rebuilding" sensors. What exactly does that mean?
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-2013, 10:00 AM
jagtoes's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 4,647
Received 1,293 Likes on 977 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by richzak View Post
I am purchasing new tires for my 2009 XKR. The tires have TPMS's.

When I go to replace the tires the tire dealer is going to rebuild the sensors and the rebuild kit was $18.00 for the 4 TPMS's.

Is there any thing I have to do for the car to pick up the sensor and provide a readout like programming.

This is the first time dealing with TPMS so I am new to the system and what is required to have them work and see the readout on the dash.

Any input is most welcome. Perhaps there are other XK/XKR owners who have went thru this process.

Thanks in advance.
You might want to ask/look at the rebuild kit. It is usually a few O-rings and nothing more. As to the reset procedure it should be spelled out in the OM. Pretty simple to do. Oh the tire dealers usually say if you don't do the rebuild they can't guaranty the tire won't leak. Also make sure you tell them if they break it they pay for the replacement and if so make sure you get it from the dealer.
 
  #5  
Old 11-28-2013, 10:24 AM
ndy.boyd's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 476
Received 152 Likes on 98 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jagtoes View Post
You might want to ask/look at the rebuild kit. It is usually a few O-rings and nothing more. As to the reset procedure it should be spelled out in the OM. Pretty simple to do. Oh the tire dealers usually say if you don't do the rebuild they can't guaranty the tire won't leak. Also make sure you tell them if they break it they pay for the replacement and if so make sure you get it from the dealer.
This was my point. Using the word, "rebuild" for replacing o-rings is really stretching the Queen's language, especially at $18/tire. An Audi dealer once told my wife that TP sensors could not be reused and installed and charged her for four new ones. It wasn't a pretty scene when I returned to the scene with my wife's car and confronted the dealership GM, who honestly had no idea what the service guy had done. He, of course, refunded the money for the sensors and even gave her a further 20% off the new tires she had just purchased. Interestingly, a month or so later, he called me to say that he had discontinued a sales quota system in the service dept. as he thought this was leading to incidents such as what happened to my wife. The service manager, by the way, was dismissed. I wasn't particularly happy to hear that, but actions do have consequences.
 
  #6  
Old 11-28-2013, 11:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 41
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I've heard that the sensors are only good for 4-6 years of battery life. After that they have to be replaced. As others have said, a rebuild only replaces the seals and valve stem, not the battery. Seems a waste to spend good money rebuilding when at best you might get another year out of the batteries and then have to pay even more to pull the wheels again to replace them. Given your car is at the 4 yr mark I'd just suck it up and replace them. Especially with a new set if wheels. New sensors I believe can be bought for ~$40 each.
 
  #7  
Old 11-28-2013, 11:47 PM
richzak's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,285
Received 1,178 Likes on 777 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ndy.boyd View Post
This was my point. Using the word, "rebuild" for replacing o-rings is really stretching the Queen's language, especially at $18/tire.
Gents:

The cost to rebuild the sensors is $4.50 each X 4 for a total of $18.00, not $18.00 per tire.

Since this is a national chain with a very good reputation, I will follow their advice. I have used them before with excellent service and results. I will also check into battery replacement if it can be done. I have never had the need to replace tires with TPMS's so it's a learning curve.

TPMS Rebuild Kits

TPMS Vehicle Diagram
Rebuilding the valve portion of the TPMS sensor insures an air tight seal and reduces the chance of early sensor replacement due to wear and corrosion of the components exposed to the environment. Our TPMS Rebuild Kits contain all the necessary components for replacement. TPMS Rebuild Kit
Warning: Using standard valve stem parts in your TPMS Sensor will damage the sensor.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by richzak; 11-28-2013 at 11:57 PM.
  #8  
Old 12-10-2013, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Detroit Michigan
Posts: 238
Received 47 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

The dealer did not tighten the drivers side read down and the tire only lost pressure when driveing. On a thirty mile trip I had to stop 4 times but that night it didn't lose a pound of pressure. I noticed the outside nut lose when I checked it the next day.
Jim
 

Last edited by LstFord; 12-10-2013 at 03:51 PM. Reason: Not read ment to say rear tire valve.
  #9  
Old 12-10-2013, 04:26 PM
richzak's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,285
Received 1,178 Likes on 777 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jagtoes View Post
You might want to ask/look at the rebuild kit. It is usually a few O-rings and nothing more. As to the reset procedure it should be spelled out in the OM. Pretty simple to do. Oh the tire dealers usually say if you don't do the rebuild they can't guaranty the tire won't leak. Also make sure you tell them if they break it they pay for the replacement and if so make sure you get it from the dealer.
I have had NO reported problems with the TPMS's rebuilds. I have new tires put on the car 10-14 days ago.

Discount Tire which is well known, rebuilt the TPMS at a cost of $4.50 each, $18.00 Total. Includes new "O" ring seals and removal and install on new tires. All TPMS replaced in original position and all works well on the XKR, with no alerts.

I do however wish the Jaguar TPMS's worked like that on my 2014 Porsche. The Porsche provides a digital readout in visual form of each tire and the PSI in each tire. You can see the change as the tire heats up or cools down. The 2009 MY Jaguar XKR only provides a low Tire PSI "indicator light" and does not show each tires constant or changing PSI.

I am not sure if this is the case in the newer MY XK/XKR's. If it is, Jaguar is way behind the modern technology readouts and data for the driver.
 
  #10  
Old 12-10-2013, 04:52 PM
Stuart S's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 5,260
Received 2,212 Likes on 1,436 Posts
Default

Richard,

I, too, wish my XKRs TPMS system worked like the one in your Cayman, which is like the one in my LS460 with a display showing the pressure for each tire including the spare.

I don't trust the Jaguar TPMS and check my tires with a digital gauge every 2-3 weeks. Because the weather just turned a lot colder, I checked my tires today and the fronts were 29 and rears 32 cold. That's only 1 pound under the specs on the door jamb sticker, but since I like to run 3 lbs over, I added air to all 4 tires with my 12v inflator that came with my car.

I agree that Jaguar is way behind other manufacturers in terms of gizmo technology (TPMS, Nav, Apps, Blind Spot, etc.), but to me it's the way the XKR drives, sounds, and looks that are far more important factors in my overall enjoyment.

Stuart
 
The following users liked this post:
Tervuren (09-01-2017)
  #11  
Old 12-10-2013, 05:40 PM
richzak's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,285
Received 1,178 Likes on 777 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Stuart S View Post
Richard,

I, too, wish my XKRs TPMS system worked like the one in your Cayman, which is like the one in my LS460 with a display showing the pressure for each tire including the spare.

I don't trust the Jaguar TPMS and check my tires with a digital gauge every 2-3 weeks. Because the weather just turned a lot colder, I checked my tires today and the fronts were 29 and rears 32 cold. That's only 1 pound under the specs on the door jamb sticker, but since I like to run 3 lbs over, I added air to all 4 tires with my 12v inflator that came with my car.

I agree that Jaguar is way behind other manufacturers in terms of gizmo technology (TPMS, Nav, Apps, Blind Spot, etc.), but to me it's the way the XKR drives, sounds, and looks that are far more important factors in my overall enjoyment.

Stuart
Totally agree 100%. The TPMS's are not a deal breaker for me. I love my 2009 XKR. I hope its a marriage that lasts a long time.

I check my tire pressure on a regular basis with an Accutire MS-4021 gauge.
 
Attached Thumbnails TPMS-Tire Pressure Monitoring Sensors-accutire-ms-4021.gif  
  #12  
Old 05-15-2019, 12:32 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 1,677
Received 694 Likes on 509 Posts
Default

The intermittent TPMS warning light was the first and only indication that the battery on the XK needed to be replaced (despite being kept on a CTEK unit and was reported as fully charged. Replacement of the (car) battery was the answer.
 
  #13  
Old 05-15-2019, 12:52 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 5,216
Received 1,426 Likes on 1,026 Posts
Default

infinite scroll strikes again. Worthless feature.
 
The following users liked this post:
Cee Jay (05-15-2019)
  #14  
Old 05-16-2019, 01:27 AM
MarkyUK's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 668
Received 152 Likes on 107 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Sean W View Post
infinite scroll strikes again. Worthless feature.
I understand your ire at old post being resurrected with what you consider to be superfluous/non applicable info.

However if all posts related to issues were updated it would make life easier.

Here are the TPMS sensors I bought for my 2014, they were cheap at less than 10 each, so purchased 5 for spare set of wheels.



 
  #15  
Old 05-16-2019, 07:59 AM
kj07xk's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Naperville, Illinois USA
Posts: 3,151
Received 772 Likes on 627 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MarkyUK View Post
I understand your ire at old post being resurrected with what you consider to be superfluous/non applicable info.

However if all posts related to issues were updated it would make life easier.

Here are the TPMS sensors I bought for my 2014, they were cheap at less than 10 each, so purchased 5 for spare set of wheels.


Readers: Note the frequency stated on that unit (433 MHz), and use appropriately (i.e. not in the US).
 
The following users liked this post:
80sRule (05-16-2019)
  #16  
Old 05-16-2019, 08:25 AM
Stuart S's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 5,260
Received 2,212 Likes on 1,436 Posts
Default

I enlarged the photo and looked for a date code but couldn't find it. Maybe it's on the other side. That's important because the battery degrades while it sits on the shelf, so a sensor manufactured 10 years ago probably won't have a lot of life left. Maybe that's why they were so inexpensive.
 
  #17  
Old 05-16-2019, 08:46 AM
jagtoes's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 4,647
Received 1,293 Likes on 977 Posts
Default

As an FYI all of the info I have seen on any of these sensors is the battery life is between 5-10 years with the avg. of about 7 years. The ones on my Lexus are starting to fail where I had to replace one last year and now have a low battery warning on a 2nd one. Also when a tire place gives you a "rebuild Kit" it only consists of a rubber seal and maybe a schrader valve which is not a big deal. They make it sound like they rebuild the unit . Considering the TPMS law came into effect in 2008 in the US I suspect the early units were not as good as some of the later units so they would be more unreliable.
 
  #18  
Old 05-16-2019, 12:19 PM
110reef's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 642
Received 183 Likes on 132 Posts
Default

Can the battery be changed, or do you need to replace the whole sensor?
 
  #19  
Old 05-16-2019, 12:33 PM
Cee Jay's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kaysville, Utah, US
Posts: 5,408
Received 1,142 Likes on 852 Posts
Default

One must replace the whole sensor, as the batteries are integral.

They certainly are not cheap little buggers;
SE53004 TPMS modules by Siemens
 

Last edited by Cee Jay; 05-16-2019 at 12:38 PM.
  #20  
Old 05-16-2019, 01:15 PM
110reef's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 642
Received 183 Likes on 132 Posts
Default

Wow $300 for sensors on top of a tire change. Can't wait.

The seller changed tires on my car when I purchased it. What are the odds that he changed the TPMS sensors....

I am not having problems with them yet, but I will soon be getting new tires. My car is 2008. Could it be riding around with original TPMS? The car had 23,000 miles when I bought it, so likely the tires I have now were the only tire change it ever had. I doubt the dealer changed the units out.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: TPMS-Tire Pressure Monitoring Sensors


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: