XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Would you trade up from a 2005 XK8 to a 2008 XK?

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2011, 08:21 PM
Veteran Member
Received 594 Likes on 422 Posts
Default Would you trade up from a 2005 XK8 to a 2008 XK?

Just wondering what are the differences in driving or living with the car.

I've been driving an 05 XK8 Coupe for 3 years and it has been absolutely trouble-free. I love the lines on the car even though I feel they are a bit dated now. It only has about 34K miles with 2 years of extended warranty left.

So, I am getting itchy, yes, that 3 year itch to get into something else. I've seen a Certified 08 with low miles and with the 6 year, 100,000 miles warranty.

My question is; how is the 08 drive compared to the 05? I know that it is the same power train. My present car is kind of lazy taking off, takes a lot of pedal input and the handling was fairly soft and under-steering until I changed to rear sway bar setup on the advice of a forum member. I guess, I am looking to see if the newer car is crisper in the chassis and the transmission tuning? Anyone who owner both? Any particular problem areas that I should know of?

Thanks for any comparison advice,

Albert

Old 03-03-2011, 11:17 PM
Received 23 Likes on 15 Posts

I had a 97 XK8 and I traded up to an 07 XK and they are completely different cars. Even though there's not much difference in horsepower the 07 seemed much quicker off the line, the transmission shift logic is much better. And they sound amazing.

But, I only kept the 07 6 months before trading up to an 08 XKR and the extra kick in the pants from the supercharger is definitely worth it - even if the ride is a bit harder.

I think you need to test drive an 07 and see the difference. Then, keep saving for another 6 months so you can buy an XKR

Old 03-04-2011, 12:30 AM
Veteran Member