XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Amber Engine Light....

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2013, 02:34 AM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Amber Engine Light....

As subject line. No messages, no restricted performance. Car doesnt seem to be missing a beat - but that light stays on.

I did drive a little harder than I normally do the day before this light came on - but nothing seemed (seems) untoward. I know the likely causes are probably infinite. Just thought I'd share this with you here.

I'm going to Jag dealer at earliest opportunity to get codes, if any, and see whats what.

Old 04-03-2013, 02:58 AM
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts

i am no expert but i had the same on my xtype and called rac,he asked me if i had changed the plugs lately,which i had he told me it was the car trying to adjust,so he put the settings back to the factory setting with his magic box and i never saw it again

Old 04-03-2013, 03:09 AM

Originally Posted by dodgerjames
i am no expert but i had the same on my xtype and called rac,he asked me if i had changed the plugs lately,which i had he told me it was the car trying to adjust,so he put the settings back to the factory setting with his magic box and i never saw it again
Yeah I hear you. I have a feeling its not something vital. Like probably the powers that be will say here, it could be any number of things. I don't use car as a daily driver and its next trip will be to Jaguar so - hopefully it will get sorted there and then. Thanks for your input. All input and ideas gratefully received. My first jag so I'm learning all the time.

Old 04-03-2013, 03:26 AM
Veteran Member
Received 687 Likes on 590 Posts

Read the OBD codes. Cheapest is an OBD bluetooth dongle off EBay UK and an app called Torque.
There will be codes if you've got a MIL.

Old 04-03-2013, 04:03 AM

Originally Posted by steveinfrance
Read the OBD codes. Cheapest is an OBD bluetooth dongle off EBay UK and an app called Torque.