XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coolant Light On

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2009, 12:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant Light On

I need advice on how to change my coolant on an XK8. I purchased coolant and opened the hood thinking that it would be an easy process. Not! I can't get to the radiator due to how it is situated in the engine compartment. What tool do I need to remove that covering? Also, is there any advice anyone can give me to perform this maintenance as best that I can? I really appreciate anyone's help with this. Thanks and have a great New Year!

Old 12-29-2009, 01:24 PM
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Hi John,
I am not an expert, but I'll tell you what I know about it. There is an Overflow Tank on the left side of the Engine Compartment. You can use your left Windshield Wiper as a close point of proximity. There is a simple Cap on top of the Overflow Tank. Just unscrew it and add your Anti-freeze directly to the tank rather than the Radiator. Hopefully, that is all that is needed. Some of us have had the problem of topping off the tank..................and still having the "Low Coolant" light stay on. Hopefully, that is not so in your case, but if it is, that's a different problem that you can check back for advise on.
Good luck!
Brian

Old 12-29-2009, 01:31 PM
Default Thanks Brian!

You're a Godsend, Brian. I was thinking of doing the same thing by adding the coolant to the Overflow tank. I now shall. As you stated, I have read on how some of us have had problems with the sensors while seeking information for my issue....hopefully not I....fingers crossed..... Anyway, thanks again and have a rewarding, happy, and wonderful New Year !

Old 12-29-2009, 02:24 PM
Veteran member
Received 1,144 Likes on 750 Posts

if you've got a slow leak, could be from that very expansion tank you're using to top it off, the thermostat housing, or the water pump, all common on these cars after some years of operation.