XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Daytime running lights

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 12:15 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Daytime running lights

Just purchased a 2000 XKR from U,S.A. and was told by the Jaguar dealer that it would cost about a $1,000.00 cdn to hook up the daytime running lights as well as $250.00 to get a proof of recall document. Does this sound right?As I'm new to the jaguar market any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Old 10-26-2009, 03:22 PM
Veteran Member
Received 256 Likes on 200 Posts

There are aftermarket DRL modules you can get. The one I got from JC Whitney was made in Canada. About $30US and about an hour to install. Not hard to do, just time consuming.

Old 10-26-2009, 09:56 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Daytime running lights are simply a programming change. My Dealer charged me 1 hour labour for this.

The proof of recalls performed letter should have been obtained from the seller as it is free to them from any U.S. dealer.

The reason they are charging so much for these items is an attempt to equalize the price diff from shopping across the border. Do you have another dealer in your area?

Old 10-27-2009, 06:54 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Thanks for the great information. I think i can still get the seller to obtain a letter of recall. That will save me some $s.
As for the daytime running lights,i will check out some other dealers , as i want to keep it as original as possible.

Old 11-28-2009, 01:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

to ABorealis, I too live in Winnipeg, Canada. The only Jag dealer in town (Woodhaven) wants $400 to turn on DRL, very adament about that. Where/when did you have it done for 1 hr labour? .....bobsvilla

Old 11-28-2009, 07:58 PM
Veteran Member
Received 364 Likes on 327 Posts

one would think at the price point of these cars this type of stuf would be STANDARD.

Old 11-30-2009, 12:17 AM
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by hlgeorge