XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Jaguar, first post, howdy!

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2014, 02:24 AM
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default First Jaguar, first post, howdy!

Hello everyone! Love the forum and have learned so much here, thanks to everyone who has contributed. Let me introduce myself, I am a machinist and tool maker for the last 20 years. In 09 I lost an arm and leg in a motorcycle accident involving an eighteen wheeler.Being stubborn I refuse to be labeled handicapped. Now, being more or less retired, I spend my time tinkering with cars, guns, building custom power wheelchairs for myself and others and generally annoying the populace. I have found I have a fondness for European and British cars and have developed a bit of a compulsion to buy abandoned projects. Or as my friends put it " Another piece of sh**.".

Currently I have an 82 928 Porsche, 98 BMW 740i, 2000 BMW 328ci, 70 Cougar Eliminator and the 97 Jaguar Xk8 that brought me to this fine forum. I purchased my Xk8 last summer on the Gulf coast through a Craigslist ad. The ad listed the car as having just over 100k and needing transmission work. Being that the price was hardly more than the cost of gas to go look at, I began my quest. Once seeing the car drive up I could see that it was in mediocre shape, having had a badly applied respray at some point. After driving the car and determining it definitely needed a transmission, the air sorta worked, all electrical goodies seemed to be in good order. I ran the vin to check the surprisingly clean Carfax and equally surprising no leaks or underbody damage, I loaded my new baby on my trailer and headed home.