XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Green shower 99 XK8, how much else needs to get fixed?

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2012, 01:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Green shower 99 XK8, how much else needs to get fixed?

Hi,
I'm a total newb at this forum. I have a 99 XK8 convertible that I bought new in '99. It has about 75K miles. I have always taken it to the dealer or a mechanic to fix things.
I don't put the top down too much, but today it was nice out, so I thought I'd put it down to drive home from the beach. I pushed the button, the windows went down but the top didn't, so I look at where it should disconnect from the front window area and there's liquid pouring out of the switches for the garage door opener. Luckily I have a towel, since I'm at the beach, to catch it before it all runs into the gear shifter.
In the 20 minutes it takes to get home, the fluid continues to drip out of the switches, and keeps dripping after the car is off. so now there's huge oil stain in the fabric above the window and the switches are all full of this oily stuff (but still work so I can get in the house).
I read a bunch of the posts about the hoses and rebuilding the somethings, but I haven't seen anything about what to do with the ancillary damage caused by the oil. It's on my passenger seat, on the gear console as well as the bits where the garage switches are. How much other stuff is going to need to be replaced due to this green shower?
I did have all the Convertible top hydraulic fluid replaced about 6 months or a year ago because the top stopped working, so it's fairly new and the oil doesn't smell like anything.
I'm often on the verge of dumping this car as it costs me about 2K a year to keep going, but it's pretty and it usually drives nicely, so maybe I should keep it.
Suggestions on what else I have to replace after this lovely "green shower"?
thanks!

Old 08-12-2012, 02:01 PM
Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts