XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

home link garage door opener

Old 06-29-2010, 06:09 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default home link garage door opener

Does any know if all home link devices are the same. The 97 XK8 conv. that i bought last week is missing the homelink (it has been removed). I have the bessel and the rubber button strip, but there are no "guts". I would think that the guts from any similar looking homelink would work, but i am not sure.

Any help would be welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Old 06-29-2010, 10:13 AM
Veteran member
Received 1,143 Likes on 749 Posts

Did a quick search for you in the XK8/R forums, found these...I think it will answer all your questions.

Old 06-29-2010, 10:18 AM
Default My two cents worth...

I'm not a homelink expert, nor do I play one on TV, but the homelink function in a Jag (or a Yugo) doesn't really need to be integrated into the car at all...

It gets power from the car, but just sits up there and transmits whatever signal it has been taught, when you push the button. There is really no need for any other interaction with your car.

Now, while that makes perfect sense, realize we're discussing a Jaguar here, so it probably has all sorts of inter-connections with the cars electronics that we've never considered, like whether the radio is too loud, or the top is down, or the rear "seat" is occupied...

Somebody with a current JTIS should be able to report those intricacies here...

Old 06-29-2010, 11:18 PM
Default All G.D.O. modules are NOT created equal

My '97 XK8 convertible's HomeLink module would not work with my garage door opener and I contacted HomeLink support at Chamberlin Group.

I learned the module in the '97 does not work with rolling code Garage Door Openers. Here is the official response I received: