XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Massive cowl shake

Old 02-11-2010, 01:34 PM
Received 13 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Massive cowl shake

Has anyone dealt with the possibility of lessening the cowl shake on this car? This bad boy shakes rattles and rolls! I'm thinking there must be a way to stiffen up this structure somehow. But, I am no engineer. Although I can weld some supports in

Old 02-11-2010, 01:42 PM
Veteran Member
Received 537 Likes on 400 Posts

After driving around in my 95 Corvette coupe with the targa panel removed, in comparison my XKR convertible with the top down feels rock solid. I have not noticed any objectionable cowl shake in the Jaguar but I guess it the perception depends on what you are comparing it with.

Doug

Old 02-11-2010, 01:57 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,110 Likes on 932 Posts

There was, about a year ago, discussion about a company in Phoenix building a carbon fiber brace to bolt to the strut towers. Not hearing any more from them I guess they never got it to work properly.

The XK8 is rock solid rigid compared to the wife's Miata.

Old 02-11-2010, 02:23 PM
Veteran member
Received 1,143 Likes on 749 Posts

doesn't the older xks also have that X brace under the car? Is yours still there squirrel?

Old 02-11-2010, 02:34 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,418 Likes on 1,933 Posts

Lessen the shake by driving on good roads only ! Seriously though, the car is based on the XJS, and the last of the convertibles of this model had a bracing frame underneath the front. Shouldn't the XK8 have it as well ?? Other than than, not much to be done, I'm afraid. As Microsoft might say, "it's not a bug, it's a feature" !!

Old 02-11-2010, 04:07 PM

Originally Posted by SeismicGuy