Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Methanol/Water Injection vs. Killer Chiller

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2012, 09:48 PM
Veteran Member
Received 182 Likes on 148 Posts
Default Methanol/Water Injection vs. Killer Chiller

I will be upgrading the supercharger on my 2002 XKR early next year. I have already decided on going to a larger lower pulley and on porting the supercharger. I will also be installing a larger intercooler and pump, all from Eurotoys. The larger intercooler and pump will help with the extra heat generated by the s/c following this mod but I'm concerned if it will be enough, especially as I live in the Dallas/Fort Worth area, where it gets very hot in the summer. Therefore, I'm also considering a methanol/water system or a Killer Chiller, which is essentially a small air conditioner that cools the air after being compressed but before entering the cylinders. The Killer Chiller seems simpler but I have no experience with either. If there is anyone here that in knowledgeable on one or the other of these systems (and I'm sure there are) can you explain the advantages/disadvantages of each. Is one likely to be more problematic than the other or more difficult to install, etc. Thanks,

Mark

Old 11-09-2012, 08:48 AM
Received 118 Likes on 93 Posts

One thing to consider, is that anytime you inject something into the engine, you have to be VERY careful of the amount of liquid put into the engine. Reason I say this, is because when the injection system fails (and it will), you will have one of two results, either nothing is injected (good news) or too much is injected (expensive bad news), I have seen many a racer's engine blow because too much liquid got into a cylinder and hydro-locked the engine.

With that said, I do not know of chiller killer, but when I was looking for a supercharger for my vette, Procharger recommended methanol only, do not remember the reason, you could call them and ask.