XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New owner looking for advise and good looks

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2015, 07:40 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New owner looking for advise and good looks

Hey there Jag owners, I'm new to this. Just got my first XKR and I'm in love. It's got 125k miles and in great shape. Sounds like I need a service at 130k. The timing belt tensioner has been replaced and there are lifetime plugs installed.

Wondering what I should be aware of and or what other mods I might want to consider? While I do like stock vehicles, I am also intrigued with the Arden front end mods.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Old 02-18-2015, 10:00 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,323 Likes on 735 Posts

Welcome Hooverhuff and you have good taste. The Arden front end is nice, the whole kit extreme and expensive. Enjoy the car and keep us up dated. Lots of reading and you will know more than you ever thought possible about your car.

Wayne

Old 02-19-2015, 12:24 AM
Received 53 Likes on 34 Posts

New owner looking for advise and good looks
Well, I don't have much advice, but I have lots of good looks...

Old 02-19-2015, 02:44 AM
GGG
Received 16,800 Likes on 12,169 Posts

Originally Posted by hooverhoff
........ The timing belt tensioner has been replaced and there are lifetime plugs installed.

Wondering what I should be aware of .......
The tensioners have been done so that leaves two other regular weaknesses on the XK8:

1. so called 'sealed for life' transmission
2. cooling system

You may want to consider a transmission fluid change if there's nothing in the history to show it's been done. This isn't in the Jaguar Scheduled Maintenance but it significantly increases transmission life.

The V8 is easily damaged/destroyed by overheating. Water Pump, Thermostat and Hose condition should be checked. Be aware the temperature gauge is useless - plenty of threads here on this.

More details in the FAQ's at the top.

Graham