XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Power Steering Hose Leak

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2015, 04:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Power Steering Hose Leak

Hello all! Newbie here with a 98 XK8. I did do a search for this and couldn't find anything. I have a small drip leak at the junction of the two hoses on the power steering line. I tried to attach a diagram but it's not working. The junction connects the "power steering oil cooler assembly" (MJA8084AB) and the "hose" (MJA3999AC). Not sure if I need to order a new line or if I can just throw a barrel clamp on there as a cheap fix. Just replaced the sway bar bushings and it's dripping perfectly on the new one (go figure). Thanks for any help you can provide!!

Old 06-03-2015, 09:13 PM
Received 191 Likes on 134 Posts

If it is leaking on the passenger side (U.S. models) under the air filter box area, there is an inexpensive, do it yourself, reliable fix mentioned several times on the forum. Sear for "brass fitting power steering" and you will find some. I'm going on 3 years with zero leaks since I fixed mine. It involves cutting off the coupler (I used a very small pipe cutter on the metal side, and a small haxsaw blade on the hose) and using a barbed brass fitting pushed and clamped in the hose end and a short rubber hose to the other end of the brass fitting and the other end of that hose sliding over the cut metal tube with clamps. There are photos and a write up on the forum somewhere. It s a $5 fix. Replacing the o-rings in the factory coupler has not worked for forum members who have tried it.

The following users liked this post:
Fetti (06-04-2015)
Old 06-03-2015, 10:33 PM