XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

traction control and rust protection - driving in the snow

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2016, 06:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default traction control and rust protection - driving in the snow

Total newbie here. I'm looking at buying my first XK8 (probably 1997-2000, for aesthetic reasons & since the Nikasil issues seem to be mostly in the past now) after about 10 years of driving Lincoln Mark VIIIs.

One of the cars I'm looking at is a '97 with ASC stability control but no traction control. Is it possible to add traction control to an XK8 that doesn't have it?

Also does anyone have tips on rust protection for winter driving?

I've seen several mentions of using wax based sprays on this board that are reapplied annually but I've also read that there are penetrating-oil-based sprays (like Krown uses) that are commonly used in Canada & might work better? Any thoughts, tips, wisdom to share?

I'm thinking I may want traction control to help me get out of street parking spots that have been plowed in with snow & similar low speed situations. I suspect that ASC stability control will do little or nothing to help in those situations.

Am I right?

On my old Mark VIIIs the traction control was very helpful with this stuff tho you pretty much needed to turn it off going up a long slippery hill or the TC would overcorrect and slow you down too much. I'm assuming an XK8 may behave similarly but have I never had ASC before so I'm uncertain...

Thanks!!!

Timothy

Old 10-16-2016, 09:40 PM
Veteran Member
Received 375 Likes on 309 Posts

You will drive an Xk8 in snow one time, say "well that was stupid" and buy a $1500 FWD winter beater to drive instead.

Old 10-16-2016, 10:31 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,166 Likes on 1,610 Posts

Oil sprays are very effective.

And ummm no ... snow was meant for RWD cars.

The following users liked this post:
Timothy J. LaPean (10-16-2016)
Old 10-16-2016, 11:07 PM