E type ( XK-E ) 1961 - 1975

Pistons in General

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2016, 05:47 AM
Received 33 Likes on 32 Posts
Default Pistons in General

Hello All,
I'm a mechanical engineer by profession, specializing in CNC applications, but I'm mainly involved with E Type restoration (S3 in particular) nowadays. I've contemplated the following issue for some time now and can provide a reasonable argument for both.

I've rebuilt many 6 and 12 cylinder Jag engines and accordingly, I've handled a lot of pistons. Having handled so many pistons, its not hard to notice that the surface finish on the Piston Skirt varies from various manufacturers. Some are Elliptically Ground, whilst others are Elliptically Turned. The obvious difference is that the surface finish produced by grinding is much finer than the turned component and I'm unsure which is better.

The arguments for each goes as follows:

1. There is infinitesimal difference between the crest and root of the surface finish of the ground piston. Accordingly a greater wear surface is presented by the piston sleeve and therefore, wear to the root of the surface finish will result in very small change to the major diameter of the piston. However, lubrication would be by way of a oil film between the Piston and the Cylinder Bore, with some oil being retained initially by the cross hatched honed surface of the cylinder when relatively young.