Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Paint Chip on clear coat

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2015, 12:12 PM
Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Paint Chip on clear coat

Hi All,

I have a 2016 F Type R Caldera Red and I got a small paint chip in the rear quarter panel, right above the rear tire. It looks like it was hit by a rock.

I am not an expert in car paint, but I noticed that the red paint is still intact, and the damage is only in the clear coat.The damaged area is small, around 1cm in width. Is there an easy way to fix this?

Attached Thumbnails Paint Chip on clear coat-dsc02219-copy2.png   Paint Chip on clear coat-dsc02219-copy.png  
Old 12-20-2015, 01:13 PM
Received 97 Likes on 70 Posts

Originally Posted by Totti
Hi All,

I have a 2016 F Type R Caldera Red and I got a small paint chip in the rear quarter panel, right above the rear tire. It looks like it was hit by a rock.

I am not an expert in car paint, but I noticed that the red paint is still intact, and the damage is only in the clear coat.The damaged area is small, around 1cm in width. Is there an easy way to fix this?
Sorry to hear. Very frustrating.

(This'll be a little long. Sorry.) I've done many chip repairs myself, though I'm no professional. That said, I see some pretty deep chips that appear to have blown through your clearcoat. I can't tell whether the base coat is damaged as well by your pic. But, what will make this repair difficult is the fact the damage is on a body crease, where pad correction will be a little challenging.