Jaguar Engines & transmissions Discuss performance / modifications / upgrades etc here..

Engine Reliability

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2010, 07:11 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Reliability

Hi, Look, I'm new to Jaguar, infact, I'm new to cars in general.

I'm new on the road, Just about to get my full driving permit here in Australia.

I'm currently driving a Nissan Silvia S13, and, while it's barrels of fun, it's simply not a Jag, is it?

The aim, is to sell my S13, save a bit of cash up, and buy either:
A Jaguar Sovereign.
A Jaguar XJ6. (Series 3?)
Or, on your advice, another model. (Please, do advise)

However, there isn't much knowledge in my area about these cars.

And, I'm wondering, For 5,000 Australian dollars, I can buy a nice XJ6 or a Sovereign. for less than 4 grand, I can buy either, but with over 200,000 kilometres on the clock, which brings me to my question.

For 4,000 dollars, is it worth buying one of these cars? I mean, are the engines, Suspension and whatnot still in good condition? Or is it worth stretching the budget, and badgering the old man for some extra cash and buying the more expensive cars?

Please, get back to me ASAP. Thankyou.

Old 05-02-2010, 07:51 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

The Ser IIIs are great cars and built like a tank but, still, age and mileage takes a toll. Unless you get very lucky and/or buy an exceptional example at the top end of the market, it's a fair bet that some repairs will be needed. Be aware that head gaskets failures are common on the 80s vintage 6 cylinder cars. I drove a Ser III for years and it was dead reliable...but it takes a bit of effort to make them and keep them that way.

A safer bet would be an "X300" style XJ6---1995-96-97 model years (in the USA, at least). These are probably the most reliable used Jag you can buy.

Cheers
DD

Old 05-02-2010, 08:13 AM

Thankyou, DD.