New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

New Member From Seattle - Thanks For Sharing Your Knowledge!

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2019, 01:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member From Seattle - Thanks For Sharing Your Knowledge!

Hi! I came across this forum last week while researching issues I've been having with my 2000 Jaguar XJR, which has 85K miles on it. This is an amazing site! I wanted to join as an official participant of this community so I can go back and "thank" the specific posts I've referenced already and ones I'm sure to reference in the future. I've never worked on cars before but I'm pretty good at following directions, so this site has been a gamechanger for me. Thank you all for sharing your knowledge!

I've had this car since 2009 and have had it worked on regularly since then but that was getting so expensive so I wanted to try working on it myself. My car was regularly going into "Fail Safe Engine Mode" at the same spot on my way home every day (on the freeway up a steep hill). Based on posts in this forum, it seemed this issue might be related to the throttle body, so i got some throttle body cleaner and cleaned the throttle body as well as i could without taking it out and also tightened the slack on the throttle cable. That helped A LOT. I can now get home without stalling everyday. However, now on that same hill I can't go above 40 mph - if i try to give the car more gas, it goes into "Trac not available", "ASC not available", and then finally "Fail Safe Engine Mode". I then pull over and turn the car off and start it back up with no issue, and as long as I don't give it too much gas, i can make it over the hill and it's smooth sailing home.