S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for all the advise I can find.

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2009, 06:46 AM
Veteran member
Received 194 Likes on 170 Posts
Default Looking for all the advise I can find.

I'm new to Jag ownership. I have always been a maintenance nut. I would change my oil every 3k plus flush my trans every 30 to 40 k (when I had an automatic). This had helped me have many vehicles that were consistently trouble free for many and many miles. So here are my questions: the short list.
How often should I change the oil? I was told by the dealer servicemanager to follow the 10k schedule, anything more is a waste of money.
Should I be running full synthetic? 7 quarts is a awful lot of $7 a quart oil to buy. I used to use conventional or synthetic blend but every 3k on my previous Honda.
I've heard that my trans is sealed, is that true? I notice a slight delay in takeoff and bit of a thunk in stop and go. In the past a good flush and filter replacement would help it out.
Can the brake rotors be cut? Again, my service manager told me no, they are a special heat treated rotor. Also, I have a gut feeling that the rotors on these are quite expensive. In the past I would just automatically get pads and rotors as soon as I felt any pulse. My driving style usually caused pulse before pad wear indicators would sound, except when I had a stick and could really downshift.
What are some other service concerns? Are there things I should be watching/cleaning in order to maintain the vehicle's peak performance.