S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing dipped beam (outer) headlight HELPPP

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2021, 04:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing dipped beam (outer) headlight HELPPP

I am trying to remove the outer left hand headlight following the instructions set out in users manual:

Dipped beam (outer) headlight
Open the hood.
Remove the top cover as shown on page 171.
Turn the circular cover (1) anti-clockwise and remove.
Press the spring clip (2) towards the bulb and downwards to release the bulb. Remove the bulb/connector (3) from the headlight assembly. Pull the connector from the bulb.

I have managed to remove the circular cover (only just able to reach) and cannot for the life of me figure out how I am supposed to get my hand in an accessible spot to complete the next step. Any tips? I am a complete novice, 24 year old gal, so layman terms would be appreciated!

Old 01-21-2021, 04:11 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To add

Car is 2006 S-Type, Japanese import, and I’m based in New Zealand.

Old 01-21-2021, 02:29 PM
Veteran Member
Received 545 Likes on 408 Posts

You have to release the plastic bumper cover and pivot it down for access to the headlight assemblys for removal. It is not as bad as it looks. In the jtis is a good walkthrough for it. Also use search on this forum and you will find detailed threads on it

Old 01-22-2021, 04:06 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,692 Likes on 1,208 Posts
Old 01-22-2021, 10:16 AM
Veteran Member
Received 480 Likes on 370 Posts

I found out that it is almost impossible to replace that bulb if you have HIDs without removing the headlight assembly because trying to align the HID bulb and the igniter to the assembly and getting the spring clip to clip in its spot is impossible when you have your hand coming in from the top and then bending 90°. Even taking out the air cleaner box to get a better shot would not work for me.