Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Alternator volts too high?

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2014, 04:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alternator volts too high?

Hi folks,

After replacing the battery a few times now - every 12 months - I checked the volts on my alternator output and am outputting 15.9 to 16.02 volts from the alternator.. Well the voltmeter is reading that across the battery terminals..

I suspect this is what is cooking the battery over time and hence I need to keep replacing it..

Couple of simple questions really.. What are the expected alternator voltage ranges on an x-type? Is the obvious cause a faulty regulator on the alternator or could this be a wiring loom issue? How can I determine the true root cause?

Any thoughts or suggestions would be much appreciated...

Am happy to change the alternator but they're not cheap and can be a pain to remove/replace..

Thx
Axelf

Old 12-30-2014, 05:51 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm no expert but that's pretty high. Probably too high even for cold charge. A 12v system should not be charging at 16v.

Measure at the alt positive post to verify. I'd go out on a limb here and if it is indeed charging that high constantly (hot/cold) the internal regular is bad/ PCM? Issues. Higher then normal charge is expected when "topping off" the battery but 15.9/16v constantly could cause bigger issues then fried batteries in a 12v system.

In my Jeep with 3 batteries and a mechman 270amp alt, it would never charge over 15. Just food for thought.

Last edited by Volvowith18psi; 12-30-2014 at 05:56 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Axelf (12-31-2014)
Old 12-31-2014, 03:03 AM
Thx for the feedback, I suspected as much.

Having said that, I followed busters advice and put the car into test mode (holding the trip button whilst starting the car) and monitored the alternator charge level this morning...