X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Light On!

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2012, 12:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Light On!

We just purchased this 2002 X-Type Jaguar from a private owner. Engine light came on and we had it read. The following codes came up. My question for you experienced Jaguar owners is "are these major issues or simple fixes?" (air filter, etc.)

P1111
Intake Air Temperature (IAT) Sensor Circuit Intermittent High Voltage

P1316
Injector Circuit/IDM Codes Detected

P0303
Cylinder 3 Misfire Detected

I'm not a mechanical guy so i hope these are minor problems. We were told by a few people that we shouldn't by a Jaguar because they have a lot of wiring issues! Hope we weren't wrong to do so anyway.

Old 10-24-2012, 02:01 PM
Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts

Hello and congrats on your Jaguar purchase.

The P1111 code is described as a readiness code. I would not worry about that one. If all diagnostic self tests ran without failure it will generate a P1111.

The p1316 is a dignostic monitor code indicatiing that thers is a misfire and excessive emissions are likely. The code will only set when there is an accompanied by a cylinder specific code. You have a P0303 stored. If the engine has a severe misfire you can damage the catalytic converter if enough raw fuel is passed throught the cat causing it to overheat.

P0303 means cylinder three has misfired enough times to set a fault code. The cause for this can vary from a simple spark plug or coil problem all the way to a compression problem. The most likely is the ignition coil for # 3 . You should inpect the plug and coil and replace if needed. It can get expensive but if they're original, I would replace them all. A compression test while it's apart would be a good idea.

Does it run rough?

Good luck.

Old 10-25-2012, 07:25 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Light is Still On!

Originally Posted by jchavez76