X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with air intake manifold

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2012, 03:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with air intake manifold

. Hi all . i am completely new to working on cars and to be utterly honest this is the first time I have ever taken a spanner to one so please make it as easy
as possible for me.

I have a 2001 jaguar x type 2.1 litre rhd petrol car. 60000 miles

Ok so far this is what I have been up to. Plan of attack is to replace the 6 coils on the car as it has been knocking and running on possibly 5 cylinders with the engine not running very well. I figured that this, as well as changing the spark plugs would be a good starting point.
Now the part that I am stuck on is this (forgive me for my lack of technical terms). I have taken of the inlet manifold and from that there are several hoses but there is one which I believe is a vacuum hose with a t connector on it that I believe goes to the breaks. Well I snapped the plastic connect right off and now having a dog trying to get it off. Is there any easy way to get these tubes off. I have tried snips and twisting and pulling etc plus screwdrivering. Plus there is some sort of filter thing on it , like a disc. Could someone tell me the name of this thing and what it does?
Sorry for all the basic questions but as mentioned earlier, I am learning.

Old 04-29-2012, 05:51 PM
Veteran Member
Received 874 Likes on 633 Posts

As someone that knows nothing about your year and model, pics would be of help.

I have in the past snapped off vacuum fittings where the hard plastic remains inside the hose. I found that running a wood or metal screw into the center of the remaining plastic at least gave me something to grab with pliers or vice grips.
A little soap and water acts as a lubricant as well (and isn't harmful to rubber), so you could dab some around the fittings while you try to loosen them.