Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with mechanical issues??

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2013, 06:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Help with mechanical issues??

Hi,
So my check engine light came on and I took my car to a local Jag mechanic and he "smoked" the engine and said that my gaskets need to be replaced. It was going to cost me $650+ bucks. No way in hell am I paying that much, I'm a broke college student! Anyway, I have already purchased a set of front brakes and rotors to put on, and now I need to replace the gaskets for my check engine light to go off. (The codes were 171 & 174.) Can anyone tell me how to do this? Obviously I don't want to f-up my car, (17 year old girl who doesn't know wtf she is doing when it comes to cars) but my dad has worked on all of his, so he said that he would be doing most of the labor. Does anyone have any resources/tips/instructions on how to replace these gaskets, and where to purchase the parts. I have a 2002 X-Type automatic 2.5L engine with 105k miles.
Thanks!
Sarah

Old 11-11-2013, 07:00 PM
Veteran Member
Received 9,005 Likes on 4,113 Posts

Hi Sarah, this post moved to the X type section for you for better results

Good luck

Old 11-11-2013, 07:11 PM
Veteran Member
Old 11-11-2013, 08:47 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

Sarah, first off, Welcome to the X-Type Section. I think you are going to like this site as it has lots of useful information and we can teach you how to do a lot of things to your car. We can teach you to do just about anything with this car. So, sit back, listen to what we say and we will steer you in the right direction.