X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How can I enable the fibre optic network?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2012, 04:04 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How can I enable the fibre optic network?

Hi, as a newbie, I need all the help I can get.
If you have read my intro you will realise that I am now the proud owner of an unexpectedly basic 2005 X Type diesel sport estate.
In an attempt to add to my driving joy I want to start adding a few gizmos, and have been advised that the easiest would be a CD Multichanger. I have sourced this, and found all the leads needed inside the boot. The audio unit is not touch screen but has the CDC button and should support it ok.
Ok, you all know what's coming now, but it took me by surprise... it does not work. I have been advised to take it to a dealer, spend lots of money and get the fibre optic network enabled because the CDC is the only thing on it!
Is this a job that I can do myself? What does enabling the network actually entail?
Any advice would be hugely appreciated!

Old 02-09-2012, 09:18 AM
Veteran Member
Received 155 Likes on 128 Posts

check this thread - it should give you the information you need.
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...ramming-62231/

Old 02-09-2012, 04:23 PM
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts

Oscar,

Before you get too crazy trying to retrofit a CD changer that doesn't interface with the OEM fiber optic network, can you check to see whether or not your car has the Audio Connectivity Module (ACM) already installed? Get a look at my ACM page here:

Jaguar Audio Connectivity Module (ACM) Installation and Tips