X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I think I may let the x-type go, and buy a new car. Any suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2011, 07:44 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default I think I may let the x-type go, and buy a new car. Any suggestions?

I am an 18 year old college student that commutes to school daily. I currently have an 02 x-type with 126K, and needless to say I am nervous for what may go wrong. Nothing is wrong with it, so i think now might be a good time to sell as everything is in perfect condition and dealer serviced. As a young student, I want a 'young' car , but am not willing to give up my bells and whistles on the car.

What do you think of the 2009 Lincoln MKZ for a younger driver? Any suggestions on a newer warranted car? Thanks!

Old 05-15-2011, 09:28 AM
Veteran Member
Received 392 Likes on 289 Posts

the only advise is if your going to school
run it to the ground
that way you dont have a car payment,
if its paid for never get another car while your in shool

keep the money in your pocket
and if it needs repair you have money the and the forum

this rule is if you have any kind of car

The following users liked this post:
Jaguarnewbie2011 (05-15-2011)
Old 05-15-2011, 10:14 AM
Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts

If buying a 2009 model car is an option, you don't fall into the "typical" starving student scenario by most peoples standards. I'd never assume a student driving an 02 X could jump into an 09 Lincoln.

That said, do you like driving the X? What do you think it's worth? I would venture to guess that an 09 MKZ will depreciate more than your X is worth over the next couple years. In other words, you can afford to run the X into the ground, or pay for some repairs and be way ahead of the game. If you just want another car, it doesn't really need to make sense to us.

So is your goal to save money or drive a new car?

Old 05-15-2011, 10:14 AM
Veteran Member
Received 301 Likes on 279 Posts