Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installing Factory Sat/Nav

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2012, 08:11 AM
Veteran Member
Received 182 Likes on 148 Posts
Default Installing Factory Sat/Nav

I have been presented with the opportunity to buy a complete original X-Type factory Sat/Nav system for a very reasonable price. My 2002 X-Type did not come with Sat/Nav and I'd like to know how difficult it is to install the factory system in a car that did not come from the factory that way. Any information would be appreciated. Thanks,

Mark

Last edited by mjlaris; 10-01-2012 at 08:17 AM.
Old 10-01-2012, 10:59 AM
Received 69 Likes on 63 Posts

I don't have anything to contribute because I've never done this before but I'm considering this as a possible future project in my car. Just wondering what a "reasonable price" is, what components I would need, and how difficult it would be.

Good luck, I'll be following this thread to see how it turns out!

Old 10-01-2012, 02:53 PM
Received 65 Likes on 49 Posts

Retrofitting touch screen sat nav controls here you can find almost everything you need to know.

The following users liked this post:
mjlaris (10-01-2012)
Old 10-01-2012, 03:22 PM
Received 38 Likes on 29 Posts

The wiring harness can be tricky. If the unit that you get includes the wiring harness then the job becomes much easier. If this is coming out of another car then you should do the removal job. This gets you all the little parts that get forgotten then someone else does it. If you cannot get the wiring harness then at least get all the connectors, it will save you a lot of hassle.

I did it when I had the doner car and recipient car side by side. It took me 5 days of continuous work. A lot of that time was taken studying the electrical diagrams.

Good luck,
Pete.

The following users liked this post:
mjlaris (10-01-2012)
Old 10-01-2012, 04:43 PM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by emaraszek