X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to buy a 2002 X-type

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2018, 02:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to buy a 2002 X-type

Hey everyone, so I am new to the world of Jaguar and would really appreciate if I could get some opinions and information as for the Jaguar I'm looking to buy. It is a 2002 X-type with a 2.5L, AWD, and has 105,XXX miles and he's asking for $2900. I'm not familiar as to what to look for if it is in good condition. Any information as to maintenance related stuff would help and if it is a reliable car to buy, any cons or things that I should look out for
Thanks

Old 04-29-2018, 03:28 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,824 Likes on 3,143 Posts

Porkipine14, the big thing that you want to look for is when you take it for a drive, listen to the drivetrain. If it sounds like a box of rocks tumbling around, run away from the car. The early cars were known for "weak" transfer cases and when they started to go, the bearings would start making some really bad noises.

The second thing I would tell you to do is get the car up to 65 mph and you want to feel for 2 things: 1) a shimmy in the steering wheel where it wobbles back and forth (this normally means that atleast one of the front wheels has a bent rim or the alignment is out and it will start eating front tires, and 2) a vibration in the car that seems to be either right under the driver's seat or just behind the driver (this is a worn carrier bearing in the rear driveshaft and is normally fixed with the simple addition of some termalene grease via a needle attachment to the internals of the bearing).