X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie X-type Shopping Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2010, 09:54 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie X-type Shopping Questions

Hi Guys, I'm considering buying an X-type, have some questions. Hopefully these haven't been answered too many times. I've been trying to read through old threads but haven't found what I'm looking for.

I'm looking at an X-type because I like the way they look, and I'm looking for a sport-luxury car. I've currently got a 2004 Land Rover Discovery which I love and will be keeping. I do all my own work on my cars, including changing the Disco over to a 5 speed manual. I also have a 2001 Focus which I've turbocharged, LSD, Wilwood brakes, etc. That's my trackday car, the truck is a pretty hard-core off-roader. I'm looking for a daily driver.

I'm a pretty sporty driver, I like European style handling but not in an overly stiff suspension. I've had a Subaru WRX in the past, that was a great car, but the turbo lag was attrocious. I strongly prefer a manual trans, but I can deal with an auto if it has decent power.

My ideal car would be a 3.0L 5 speed Sport package, but I imagine these are rare. I really like wagons generally, but I'm not sure if I want the wagon in this case... I already have an SUV and a minivan, so I can probably live with a sedan.

I think I would prefer the Viscous transfer case, but I'm not sure. Generally speaking, an older car will be cheaper and have the viscous, but since I live in Canada, I'm pretty worried about the rust issue.

1. What was the last year of the manual transmission availability?

2. What was the last year of the Viscous LSD transfer case? I believe 2004 is what I read, but was it available in 2004, or 2004 was the first year it wasn't available?