X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newby needs help..

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2011, 06:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newby needs help..

I have fallen on very hard times and just found out that I have two problems with my 2003 Jag X Type 3.0.

I am not a mechanic or even close so I am lost really. I was told that the Output Shaft seals and the Crank Dampener seal need to be replaced. The dealership quoted $1800 to do the repairs. I cannot afford to them now without a job and was wondering which "Fix" is most important of the two? Does the price seem right? How much risk is it to drive the car until I can come up with some money?

Thanks so much!

Steve

Old 12-29-2011, 07:43 PM
Received 7,879 Likes on 4,763 Posts

Output shaft seals I guess are the gearbox/transfer case seals??????????

The Crank Damper seal is an engine oil seal. If you keep the engine oil level topped up at all times it is just a nuisance to ensure you don't ruin the engine.

The output shaft seals are a little harder to determine the amount of fluid loss.
A 'seep' is acceptable for a while but actual fluid loss can be damaging to the transfer case or gearbox.

If you see RED fluid on the ground, then it is gearbox related. The transfer case fluid is golden/amber in color (as is the engine oil)

You need to crawl under and determine if it is a LEAK or a SEEP.

The Dealer will always 'UP-SELL' to make money. Sometimes necessary repairs and sometimes NOT.

A second opinion is always recommended if the repair bill is high or the estimate is unexpected.

You be the judge!!

bob gauff

The following users liked this post:
mediaman (01-03-2012)
Old 12-29-2011, 08:18 PM
Veteran Member
Received 172 Likes on 147 Posts