X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Throttle position sensor

 
  #1  
Old 12-22-2012, 04:25 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Throttle position sensor

Apparently the throttle body on my wife's 2004 is failing. There is also a throttle position error code as well. Is the throttle positions sensor part of the throttle body, or is it a separate part?

Thanks is advance.
Greg
 
  #2  
Old 12-23-2012, 10:03 AM
reyesl's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Saint Robert, MO
Posts: 811
Received 244 Likes on 141 Posts
Default

Might have some info here to help.

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...-2004-a-81565/
 
  #3  
Old 12-25-2012, 01:15 PM
disguay's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: fort collins, CO
Posts: 1,109
Received 169 Likes on 145 Posts
Default

The tps (throttle position sensor) is part of the throttle body and it needs no programming. That means that you can take your bad throttle body and simply replace it (30 minutes by yourself) with a good unit. It's a really easy swap. I've had to take my throttle body off many times.

If it were me doing the repair I would buy a used part, because it's so cheap and it's such an easy part to get at. If you want a new one, they will destroy you on the price unless you buy one of these (just make sure it fits!!!!) 4x43 9F991 AA Throttle Body for Select Jaguar x Type Models | eBay
 
  #4  
Old 12-25-2012, 02:55 PM
JgaXkr's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boston Mass
Posts: 1,470
Received 223 Likes on 177 Posts
Default

I may have a throttle body for your car if you are interested.
 
  #5  
Old 12-25-2012, 08:58 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks all. I had hoped that I wouldn't need a computer to complete the repair. I'm traveling without tools and I don't have a garage. A local repair shop said that they could put it on without difficultly, but didn't know if it would have to be programmed.

I paid $525 for this one Brand New Genuine Throttle Body for Jaguar s Type x Type | eBay and $40 overnight freight. $500 seemed cheap compared to the $2000 quoted by the dealer.

We have an S-Type that hasn't had any problems, but it appears that the trottle body is a weak link in the system.

Hopefully UPS will make the delivery Wednesday and I can this solved.
 
  #6  
Old 12-26-2012, 12:26 AM
aCapiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: King City, CA
Posts: 194
Received 44 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

I had the same exact problem in my X. It got so bad to the point I couldn't drive it more than a block without my throttle completely cutting out and going into limp home mode, at which point I would try restarting 5 or more times or just push it home.

I was afraid of spending big $$$ on a Throttle Body so I followed this guide to clean the Throttle Position Sensor and the Throttle Body. GUIDE HERE (for an S Type but parts are either same or similar

It was pretty easy and my TPS didnt seem dirty at all but FIXED MY PROBLEM!! It has been 25,000 miles since I did this and has been knock on wood. Worth a try before shelling out big bucks.
 
  #7  
Old 01-03-2013, 10:35 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for all the help. We got the car repaired and we're now back home. I kept the old throttle body, so I'll clean and keep it as a spare. Thanks for the link.
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-2013, 07:19 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Do you have a TB for sale? What year of vehicle is it from
 
  #9  
Old 01-04-2013, 09:45 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It's from a 2004. By old I meant bad. I'm going to try and clean it per the instructions and hang on to it.
 
  #10  
Old 01-05-2013, 09:41 AM
JgaXkr's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boston Mass
Posts: 1,470
Received 223 Likes on 177 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by simplicity2006 View Post
Do you have a TB for sale? What year of vehicle is it from
I am pretty sure I have a throttle body, what year is your car?
 
  #11  
Old 03-04-2014, 04:48 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have a 2003 xtype 2.5, it threw a few codes, I was told it was TPS it goes into limp mode and cruise control comes on saying not available etc, so I bought the whole throttle body assembly. Do I have to get reprogramed from jaguar after installing the TB? Please let me know asap, thanks guys
 
  #12  
Old 03-04-2014, 05:02 AM
GGG's Avatar
GGG
GGG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 109,152
Received 10,343 Likes on 8,499 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bsmokey8 View Post
...... I bought the whole throttle body assembly. Do I have to get reprogramed from jaguar after installing the TB? ........
Welcome to the forum Bsmokey8,

TB's are a straightforward replacement and don't need dealer programming.

When you get a minute, please follow this link New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum to the New Member Area - Intro a MUST forum and post some info about yourself and your vehicle for all members to see.

In return you'll get a proper welcome and some useful advice about posting to the forum.

Graham
 
The following users liked this post:
Stuart Beattie (04-22-2014)
  #13  
Old 03-04-2014, 03:28 PM
Thermo's Avatar
Veteran member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 11,763
Likes: 0
Received 2,839 Likes on 2,401 Posts
Default

Bsmokey8, myself and one other member have been playing with failed throttle bodies. Atleast the ones we have played with, the problem is not the TPS unit, but the control motor for the throttlebody. This is where you will need to make a decision. You have 3 options as I see it. You can spend the $1600 roughly to get a new throttle body from the dealership and install it yourself (very easy to do, 2 plugs, a snap band, 4 bolts, and 2 hoses), you can spend $400 on a rebuilt throttlebody, but now you are going to be without a car for a few days as the throttlebody goes back and forth, or finally you can remove the throttlebody yourself and get into the control motor and tighten up the springs a little bit. If you tear into the throttlebody, you will need a set of pentalobe bits to access the motor.

In short, what is happening is the brushes that feed power to the motor are not providing sufficient contact to maintain the control motor. So, the car sees the throttle as not responding and therefore it assumes it is a TPS issue.

If you want more info, please let me know.
 
The following users liked this post:
Rob_XJ8 (06-23-2018)
  #14  
Old 03-04-2014, 03:54 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for the reply, I am picking up the throttle body assembly tomorrow and I will try it, if I have issues I will contact you. Thank you once again
 
  #15  
Old 04-16-2014, 03:21 AM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,364
Received 3,782 Likes on 2,216 Posts
Default

Seems like someone has finally made an aftermarket TPS to replace the unavailable Denso 198500-3300

New Jaguar 02 04 x Type Denso Throttle Position Sensor 198500 3300 | eBay
 
The following users liked this post:
cujet (04-16-2014)
  #16  
Old 04-16-2014, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 180
Received 31 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cambo351 View Post
Seems like someone has finally made an aftermarket TPS to replace the unavailable Denso 198500-3300

New Jaguar 02 04 x Type Denso Throttle Position Sensor 198500 3300 | eBay

It's about time!!!
 
  #17  
Old 01-07-2018, 07:28 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: palmdale ,CA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Good question.As you say throttle position sensor then must be part of the throttle . This part is a black color plastic with two screws connected to front head of the throttle body with a large hornes wire .to replace first determinate gas timing line on the housing where upper screw is located or is two fix hole . Then disconnect the horned wire by pull back the red part and push the lock behind the red part ,then pull the Horne’s out .If has timing position you will see a line and screw housin is oval shape to time the sensor .with a pen or scratch on throttle body mark that position ,then replace with new one. Notice first you must disconnect the battery heads in order to after installation computer read the new information .After replacing turn on the car and let run in normal idol 750RPM for at least 1 minute ,then push the pedal and check if change appear .this will be recognize by feeling engine has no hazitatiin a It get gas as you pushing the pedal .Give a test drive and check your RPM during gear shifting If gears are change on 2.7 till 2.9 “under the 3000RPM then engine is operate correctly and problem is fixed.
 
The following users liked this post:
Rob_XJ8 (06-23-2018)
  #18  
Old 01-08-2018, 02:26 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,322
Received 3,440 Likes on 3,046 Posts
Default

Nearly 4 yrs old...
 
  #19  
Old 06-02-2018, 08:44 PM
Patterson's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 669
Received 49 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Are you saying to create a hatch mark along the black plastic body of the old TPS and extend the mark to the aluminum of the TB? This would help you remove and reinstall the same TPS, but how do you clock a new TPS to an old throttle body?


Originally Posted by John khamis hesar View Post
This part is a black color plastic with two screws connected to front head of the throttle body with a large hornes wire .to replace first determinate gas timing line on the housing where upper screw is located or is two fix hole . Then disconnect the horned wire by pull back the red part and push the lock behind the red part ,then pull the Horne’s out .If has timing position you will see a line and screw housin is oval shape to time the sensor .with a pen or scratch on throttle body mark that position ,then replace with new one.
 
  #20  
Old 06-03-2018, 06:07 AM
dwclapp's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 808
Received 269 Likes on 228 Posts
Default

Patterson: Those elongated holes in the TPS are to position it at the proper angle for correct output / signal voltage from the pink and yellow wires. With the ignition key in the run position and engine off, here are the DC voltages specified by Jaguar:

orange / yellow wire: 5 V reference input from the ECM
black / green wire: ground
pink wire: 0.74 V at idle, 3.97 V at full throttle
yellow wire: 1.65 V at idle, 4.20 V at full throttle

As Thermo notes earlier in this thread, sometimes when you suspect a bad TPS, the real issue is worn brushes in the servomotor controlling the throttle plate. Both can cause erratic air / fuel ratio. After installing the TPS to the correct output / signal voltage, it would be good to check the fuel trims at idle and ~2.5K rpm to see if the ECM is adjusting your fuel trims properly.
 
The following users liked this post:
Patterson (06-03-2018)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Throttle position sensor


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: