XF (X260) 2015 onwards

Reliability low?

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2018, 06:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reliability low?

Newbie here and I am considering going from my Lexus GS F-Sport to a 2018 XF R-Sport, BUT: today I came across the reliability ratings from U.S. news... a measly 2 Stars, wow! (https://cars.usnews.com/cars-trucks/jaguar/xf). Is this car really that bad? I know it had its issues and associated reputation in the past, but I thoughts that this is all indeed in the past. What does everyone here think about this low rating? Here are all the pros and cons from US News and World:

Pros

• Comfortable, roomy cabin
  • One of the largest cargo spaces in the class
  • Well-rounded selection of peppy engines
  • Superb fuel economy
Cons
  • Portions of infotainment system are overly complicated
  • Navigation system doesn't work consistently
  • Low predicted reliability rating

Old 05-16-2018, 07:37 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,133 Likes on 1,307 Posts

Those who actually own modern Jaguars will tell you that they are indeed very reliable. It seems that theses days any glitch in any electronic component causes cries of dismay. But the vast majority of complaints relate to a very simple thing:low battery voltage caused by infrequent use and/or short runs insufficient to keep the battery at full charge. The result can be a hiccup in any of the electronic systems when the controlling modules do not get sufficient voltage. This is not confined to Jaguars by any means.
Reliable? We have a 2002 x-Type that has had 2, yes two repairs in 15 years of daily use:replacement of an 02 sensor and replacement of a water pump. And a 2007 XK that has not had a single issue, and a 2005 X-type wagon that has had ZERO issues, and...the list is longer and continues in the same vein. Jaguars are as reliable as any modern luxury car. Just feed them full voltage.

Old 05-16-2018, 08:08 PM
Veteran Member
Received 437 Likes on 386 Posts