XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

5.0 Broken Timing Guide

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2021, 02:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.0 Broken Timing Guide

Hey Guys,

I'm new to Jaguar but found a 2012 XF with 89k miles near where I live for what looks like a good price. The seller claims that it's just a broken timing guide and that his mechanic inspected the engine and that there is no internal damage. He claims the engine will start up just fine but then stalls and you can hear the timing chain "flopping around". This sounds like a bigger issue to me then just the timing chain/guides correct? If it is just the timing chain/guides what is the likelihood that there are also damaged pistons and valves? I see a lot of issues involving the timing chain but can't find a lot of info on how often pistons/valves are damaged. Any advice on this would be much appreciated!

Old 06-19-2021, 04:11 PM
Received 193 Likes on 144 Posts

I would be interested to know how he inspected the engine without dismantling the front. If the valves had hit the pistons it would not start and run.

Old 06-19-2021, 04:14 PM

He claims his mechanic had it apart. Proper procedure would be to remove the valve covers for inspection right?

Old 06-19-2021, 11:14 PM
Veteran Member
Received 469 Likes on 279 Posts

It could just be the well-documented timing guide issue where the metal on the guides was not as strong as the hardened metal of the tensioner pin, causing deformation over time.

When I rebuilt my engine I found burrs in the aluminum in the area where the chains pass between the head and the block, where this deformation had caused so much slack in the chains that they were rattling around in the chamber, and you could hear a definite luggy rattly noise on idle. Not enough slack to cause internal damage (the catastrophically low oil level took care of that), but this could be the kind of chain guide damage he's talking about?