XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Bleeding ABS systems

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2009, 07:52 PM
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Bleeding ABS systems

So, I'm working towards changing my brakes on my '04 XJ8. The pads (Akebono Euros) came in today. Next payday will be the purchase of R1 Concepts slotted rotors. I also plan to change out the brake fluid. I understand how to replace fluid and bleed the lines, but when I was reading about flushing the ABS reservoir, it mentioned that some cars require special tools, such as a device to cause the ABS to cycle, to pump dirty fluid out of its reservoir.

So, would I be better off just taking the whole kit up to a brake shop and letting them do it? I'm an average shade tree mechanic, but I don't want to get in over my head.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Mitch

Old 08-07-2009, 03:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have asked a mechanic about this and there is no big deal in bleeding the system. Start with the rear wheel furthest from the master cylinder then the other rear then the front.Use about a litre of fluid. When you have done it once you can do it again when nescessary!

Old 08-07-2009, 04:23 PM
Received 120 Likes on 95 Posts

I'm not an expert in brakes so take my words with a grain of salt.

From what I have read, bleading the ABS is indeed a tricky part. In the dealer diagnostic software there is a special procedure that will force the ABS pump to "flush" the fluid. It's not really a "tool" - more like a software that talks to the ABS computer module and makes it do the right thing.

The regular brake shop I used did not have any such equipment.

Last edited by veffremov; 08-07-2009 at 04:26 PM.
Old 08-07-2009, 10:59 PM