XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

New Comer - Looking For Answers

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2011, 03:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Comer - Looking For Answers

Hello,

I am a new comer to this forum, but I am a former service engineer for Jaguar Cars (North America) so I am familiar with the product line. I have always had a soft spot for the Jags, but I always wished for more performance, especially in the way of a manual gearbox. I am looking to convert a 1996 XJR (X300) to a Ford Cobra (Supercharged 4.6L DOHC) engine and T56 manual transmission. I am having a hard time locating a clutch pedal assembly from a European XJ6 variant that used the 5 speed manual gearbox. Can anyone please advise where I can find this piece? Any sources or parts dealers over seas that you know of? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Cory

Old 01-19-2011, 03:57 AM
Veteran Member
Received 637 Likes on 439 Posts

Welcome, it's good to hail such talented persons like you .
Your project is fantastic and you can't see such cars with that combination .

You can check out Duckworth one of our vendors
off the site :
www.britishcars.co.uk

and www.ebay.co.uk

I don't know any other sources outside the US

Old 01-19-2011, 09:54 AM
Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts

Outside US would be your best bet for manual Jags. Try Eurojag in England or any other Jag breaker in the UK - or even ebay in UK.

Old 01-19-2011, 09:57 AM
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

That should be a very interesting build!! Will the motor fit in the XJ? It makes me kind of sad to hear someone converting a XJR. They are a low number car and getting harder and harder to find. What power #s are you looking at from the Ford motor? Also, will that be an electrical nightmare?

Old 01-19-2011, 04:34 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,430 Likes on 1,940 Posts