XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

x300 issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2012, 05:49 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default x300 issues

sure this has been asked before but im a newbie here, 3 issues with my car
1.rear view mirror rooted, is it easy to fit a standard mirror in place of the photochromic one?
2.clock not working, faint digit but nothing else, easy repair?
3. starting issue, pulled up at a friends home, switched the car off, when it was time to leave the car wouldn't go, all the dash lights came on but absolutely nothing from the starter. Tried numerous things like loose wires or loose solenoids but nothing found . decided to push the car out of the way so my friend could get his car out of the drive, after doing this tried the car again and started straight away!!Only had the car for 5 days so a bit worried that it could be an ongoing issue. Ideas greatly appreciated.Thanks

Old 09-23-2012, 07:03 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,747 Likes on 7,099 Posts

Originally Posted by bigriz
sure this has been asked before but im a newbie here, 3 issues with my car
1.rear view mirror rooted, is it easy to fit a standard mirror in place of the photochromic one?

Haven't done the task myself so I'm talking out of my hat. But, I presume it would simply be a matter of buying a standard mirror and installing it, leaving the wires from the old mirror unused.

Bear in mind that two types of mounting tab were used on the X300s. I can't remember the details on that. Someone will chime in

If you're thinking about a generic, non-Jaguar mirror from the local auto supply shop, well, I'mm sure that's possible as well but, again the mounting tab becomes an issue. If it won't fit the tab you have, you'll have to break the tab off the glass. Sounds risky to me.

2.clock not working, faint digit but nothing else, easy repair?

There are some home brew DIY fixes out there with spotty results. Most of us have best luck by sending the clock to this outfit