XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Crackling Radio With Running Engine

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2016, 01:31 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,180 Likes on 1,583 Posts
Default Crackling Radio With Running Engine

Hi all,

After changing my alternator and sparkplugs, my radio clicks through the speakers when the engine is running.

It is also rev-related as the frequency will increase with the revs...

What could this be? I'm no electrics expert... I can rebuild an engine but don't ask me how to rewire something...

Cheers for something tips and advice.

Damien

Old 01-15-2016, 04:09 PM
Veteran Member
Received 857 Likes on 705 Posts

Did you buy the correct plugs? Is the ground (earth) strap from the alternator clean and tight? Are all of the coils correctly attached to the plus, no broken wires?

The following users liked this post:
Don B (01-15-2016)
Old 01-15-2016, 06:56 PM
Received 12,736 Likes on 6,379 Posts

Hi Damien,

It helps others give the most accurate answers if you will provide the model, year and engine displacement of your Jaguar. If you'll add that info to your signature then it will show up with all of your posts.

As Jim mentioned, using the correct resistor spark plugs is important, and the correct plug for your engine depends on when it was manufactured. Some members who have used plugs other than the original equipment NGKs have reported problems.

Another possibility is the Suppresion Module, which is a radio-frequency noise suppression capacitor that connects across two terminals on the alternator. For a 1997-2003 XJ8 with a V8 engine, it's Part 1 in the diagram below. If the supression module was not connected, or the electrical connector shown in its wiring harness was disturbed, your radio will pick up Electro-Magnetic Interference (EMI) from the alternator: