Go Back  Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Jaguar Models ( Modern ) > XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
Reload this Page >

Do I need to reprogram a swapped instrument cluster/speedometer

XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Do I need to reprogram a swapped instrument cluster/speedometer

 
  #1  
Old 10-29-2010, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: san francisco
Posts: 110
Liked 20 Times in 4 Posts
Default Do I need to reprogram a swapped instrument cluster/speedometer

I think i read somewhere before where if you swapped instrument clusters, the dealer would have to reprogram it for it to operate? But i have read of others just swapping them with no reprogramming necessary. My instrument panel is done for, I have an XJR but have found an xj8 cluster locally for $50; was thinking about picking it up; I would assume they are interchangeable. does anyone have any experience with this?
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-29-2010, 08:36 PM
MidlifeXJR's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 590
Liked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Default

I don't know about the reprogramming, but the XJ8 cluster will be missing the "supercharged" badge on the tachometer if you care.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-2010, 07:24 AM
ud
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Likes: 0
Liked 131 Times in 73 Posts
Default

I believe so on a 1999. The odometer reading on your original unit syncs up every startup with the body processor module and the ECM. If the odometer reading is changed (used unit) the modules will not see what they are expecting and the security feature will lock out.
 
  #4  
Old 10-30-2010, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 552
Liked 45 Times in 35 Posts
Default

I say try it and let us know what happens. It is only $50. I know on Caravans and Town & Country vans the odometer data is stored in the BCM and a swapped cluster will get the correct mileage from the BCM. You do have to be careful in swapping PCMs and BCMs though because mixing one that has security with one that doesnt will cause it to lock out! I learned this the hard way.
 
  #5  
Old 10-30-2010, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boston Mass
Posts: 394
Liked 55 Times in 45 Posts
Default

The cluster does not need to be programmed however you need a cluster from a supercharged car otherwise the display will show incorrect part fitted, also the connector on 1999 & 2000 cars are not the same.
 
  #6  
Old 10-30-2010, 09:56 PM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Decatur,TX
Posts: 7,709
Liked 4,009 Times in 2,631 Posts
Default

Here is some info to look at

bob gauff
 
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
418-03AM.pdf (63.4 KB, 1048 views)
The following users liked this post: motorcarman
willia (02-10-2011)
  #7  
Old 10-31-2010, 06:14 AM
Sean B's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunny Southport UK
Posts: 4,429
Liked 1,122 Times in 911 Posts
Default

I have a question, I've used a donor to install all electrical systems into a new body-shell, the mileage is higher on the donor, I'd like to match it to the original. I've been told mileage adjustment is possible, but will it lock out?
 
  #8  
Old 10-31-2010, 06:49 AM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Damon /Houston, Texas
Posts: 6,876
Liked 1,704 Times in 1,132 Posts
Default

its possible and yes they have to be programmed on "chipped" ignition keys. The key programming is retained in the I pack, youll need all keys and at least 2 for programming. Any missing keys will be deleted, but can be programmed later unlike the new smart keys with push button start operation(except the new 2011 XJ)
You should call several speedo repair shops about mileage, while I know you cannot change the mileage through Jaguar software, I met a guy in Moab Utah that owns a speedo shop in Cali. and he said he bought the software to programmed ALL I packs and mileage. He said the software and equip cost him 30k but that may have been an exaggeration who knows. I know software like that is expensive. But call around and ask because without this capabilty, speedo shops would be out of business if they dont expand and stay up with new tech. At the dealer level as long as the VCATs suffix's match ie 001, 005, 002 etc for the Ipack theyre considered compatible modules.
 
  #9  
Old 10-31-2010, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boston Mass
Posts: 394
Liked 55 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If your car is an X308 they instrument pack does not need to be programmed, I have swapped over clusters & never had to do the keys. The S Type & X Type as well as X350 all need to be programmed.
 
  #10  
Old 11-04-2010, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: san francisco
Posts: 110
Liked 20 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Alright guys. So, I did the swap, no reprogramming needed and no fault codes. It is working perfectly.
 
  #11  
Old 02-14-2011, 04:59 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Thailand
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default XJ8 speedo

I have a similar issue and I am not sure if you say there is a solution: I need a new speedo but want to retain my original mileage, turning back/forward seems a problem.

Any ideas?
 
  #12  
Old 02-14-2011, 06:28 AM
Sean B's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunny Southport UK
Posts: 4,429
Liked 1,122 Times in 911 Posts
Default

If you give EuroJag a ring in the UK with the model year and mileage - they'll do a near match. Or you can send a replacement to a mileage correction supplier, there're plenty in the UK, but I don't know about were you are!

http://www.eurojag.com/
 
  #13  
Old 02-14-2011, 08:03 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Thailand
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mileage correction supplier in UK

Hi I am in Thailand so I could EMS or ship the speedo to someone if you know of 1 or 2 reliable and reasonable I would appreciate names, numbers or links and I will follow up.
Thanks
 
  #14  
Old 01-27-2017, 11:42 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Va
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 2 keys

Originally Posted by Brutal View Post
its possible and yes they have to be programmed on "chipped" ignition keys. The key programming is retained in the I pack, youll need all keys and at least 2 for programming. Any missing keys will be deleted, but can be programmed later unlike the new smart keys with push button start operation(except the new 2011 XJ)
You should call several speedo repair shops about mileage, while I know you cannot change the mileage through Jaguar software, I met a guy in Moab Utah that owns a speedo shop in Cali. and he said he bought the software to programmed ALL I packs and mileage. He said the software and equip cost him 30k but that may have been an exaggeration who knows. I know software like that is expensive. But call around and ask because without this capabilty, speedo shops would be out of business if they dont expand and stay up with new tech. At the dealer level as long as the VCATs suffix's match ie 001, 005, 002 etc for the Ipack theyre considered compatible modules.

so do I need to keys or could it be done with one and the other key be deleted untill I get another one
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Newark Nj Gang
X-Type ( X400 )
1
10-02-2015 02:39 PM
millertic
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade or Buy Classifieds
0
09-30-2015 08:11 PM
pnwrs2000
XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III
6
09-30-2015 01:56 PM
JTC3400
XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 )
5
09-29-2015 05:03 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Do I need to reprogram a swapped instrument cluster/speedometer


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: