XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Inoperable Trans Shift Interlock - 2nd issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 08:07 PM
Received 86 Likes on 70 Posts
Default Inoperable Trans Shift Interlock - 2nd issue

Hi everybody -
I'm a newbie who just bought a 2001 XJ8 VDP w/ 75K miles. A wonderful car on the highway, very comfortable. I got it for cheap because it has a few, er, issues. The second is:
The brake/shift interlock is inoperable. When I park the car and remove the ignition key, I get the 10 seconds of beeping. With the key out, I can freely move the shift lever into and out of Park.
Can this be caused by a problem with the Body Control Module (see my other thread) or is it likely to be a mechanical issue with a broken or bent part, or a bad switch in the shifter mechanism? All advice and opinions appreciated!

(BTW, I found and downloaded the famous JTIS files, and compared to what I was used to for my American cars, I was disappointed. In particular, American shop manuals have detailed troubleshooting charts. I haven't found anything comparable for Jaguar as yet. Also, my American shop manuals have clear illustrations of the various wiring harnesses, as installed in the car, so you can see what part of the trim or upholstery you have to uproot to get at them. How do the Jaguar mechanics figure this out? OJT?)

Old 11-08-2010, 08:44 PM
Received 7,878 Likes on 4,762 Posts