XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

interesting intake findings...

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2010, 02:07 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default interesting intake findings...

I apologize if this rambles, but I wanted to share my thoughts and see what others think. Let me first say I'm an absolute tinkerer... so I don't claim to know what I'm doing in regards to cars or engineering. With that said, I've been mulling this over for several years off and on but never really tested this theory. It all kinda started when my MAF started going out a few years ago. Aside from the kinds of problems that causes (which we're all familiar with), I thought it was strange that it affected shift patterns in the xjr. Several months later, my plastic intake tube was loose and that too changed the feel of the shifts. Since my car currently is mechanically perfect, it does change the way it shifts from time to time. Sometimes, it's smooth as silk, totally impreceptable... other times, it's still smooth but just different. I know these cars take various inputs, and electronically changes it's shift patterns based on current conditions to make it shift smooth, but to me there are still differences from day to day, stop light to stop light, accelerating slow or fast, etc.

So I started mulling it over and realized air volume has an effect on how these cars shift. I started tinkering with the intake positioning to see if I could consistently make changes in the way it feels. I almost always drive in "normal" mode vs. "sport" just because the shifts are smoother.... it doesn't normally have that "ok I'm gonna shift soon, so I'll back off on the throttle for a split second, shift, then resume drive" feeling that sport mode almost always has. Even then, the shift "feeling" is sometimes harsher (or more pronounced) than other times.