XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Petrol smell exhaust!.

 
  #1  
Old 05-05-2019, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: south woodford
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Petrol smell exhaust!.

I noticed there was a bolt missing on a air intake which i think is where the mgr valve is located. There was a gap between the hose. So I put a bolt in and closed the gap in the pipe. The day after I started the car and it ran rough and cut out. It would not restart so called my breakdown company and it was flooded. So they sorted it out. Now I can smell a petrol smell from the exhaust. It sometimes stutters slightly when I put my foot down and sometimes tries to cut out when first starting. But it seems to run smoothly. It seems to use more fuel also. I was thinking maybe a spark plug is not working but not 100% sure. I get a error code p1646 on my diagnostic tool which I have got since getting the car. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 05-05-2019, 04:40 PM
Sean B's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunny Southport UK
Posts: 4,446
Received 1,137 Likes on 920 Posts
Default

It's not a spark plug on the blink, it's an A Bank upstream O2 sensor, probably dead. Their job is just as harsh as a spark plug and wear out leading to fuel trims out of wack. If you change it yourself you will need an O2 socket or kit to remove it.

Can you post a picture of the bolt in the tube?
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-2019, 04:43 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,204
Received 3,419 Likes on 3,030 Posts
Default

Even a tiny leak will cause big trouble but first fix that O2 issue.

It's a good idea to have an OBD tool that can show live data and look at LTFTs - after doing the fix - to see if they're OK.

If you can smell petrol like that then it's flooding the cat(s) and may well be destroying the cat(s) so avoid using the car till it's fixed - cats are costly!
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-2019, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: south woodford
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Bolt!.

Here is the picture of the bolt I replaced. I am just wondering if it was left out and there was a gap left in the air intake hose for a reason. It's just after putting the bolt and made there was no gaps the problem started!. Also on my diagnostics tool it passed on everything except components.

Error Code!.


Air inlet!
 
  #5  
Old 05-05-2019, 07:06 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Douglasville Ga.
Posts: 7,588
Received 2,089 Likes on 1,785 Posts
Default

Do a hard reset so that the ECU can return all the settings to nominal. Disconnect the neg. cable from the battery and touch it to the positive post for 20-30 seconds. When you reconnect turn the ignition key on but don't engage the starter for 30 sec.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by RJ237:
chris-jag (05-07-2019), Dutchy (05-10-2019)
  #6  
Old 05-06-2019, 11:50 AM
Sean B's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunny Southport UK
Posts: 4,446
Received 1,137 Likes on 920 Posts
Default

^ This, if you change the amount of air going into the engine, you change the fuel mixture. Unmetered air leaks are a devil. Performing a 'hard rest' as RJ suggests puts the car back to factory engine map settings, and from there it will learn and adapt a new fuel map for the metered airflow.

Carry out the hard rest and start the car, it should have a high idle (1500rpm+) initially, then decays back to almost stall point - this is the engine ecu performing a throttle calibration, once this is completed let the car idle for 10 minutes then take it for a drive, any codes after clearing before said drive, post here.

I think you had an unmetered airleak, the car's ecu added fuel to compensate then you cut the air by fixing the leak, but the map is still overfueling - this could cause an O2 code.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Sean B:
chris-jag (05-07-2019), Dutchy (05-10-2019)
  #7  
Old 05-07-2019, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: south woodford
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Removed the battery!.

I did not have the courage to do a ECU reset. I was worried about getting any issues after. I removed the battery for 10 minutes. When I turned it on it acted like I had one a ECU reset. Because the revs went high then it tried to stall. The 1646 error code did not appear after taking it for a drive but it appeared again shortly after. It is reporting a lot better range and mpg on the dashboard readout. It also surprised me that it never forgot my radio stations but I had to enter the radio code.
 
  #8  
Old 05-07-2019, 12:46 PM
Sean B's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunny Southport UK
Posts: 4,446
Received 1,137 Likes on 920 Posts
Default

Change the O2 sensor and get even better gas mileage.
 
  #9  
Old 05-08-2019, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: south woodford
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Ecu Reset!.

I reset the ecu today so will see how it is over the next few days.
 
  #10  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:45 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Douglasville Ga.
Posts: 7,588
Received 2,089 Likes on 1,785 Posts
Default

Removing the battery for 10 min. probably resulted in a ECU reset, so don't expect much change. It's just to drain the capacitors.
 
  #11  
Old 05-09-2019, 08:38 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southlake, TX
Posts: 1,094
Received 330 Likes on 280 Posts
Default

The breather tube going from the intake pipe to the valve cover cracks very easily and can suck air. Every one at the junkyard I come across was broken, until I ran across one with NOS Jaguar stickers still on it (like it was just changed before the car was wrecked).

Disturbing the intake pipe a little could open a gap in the tube.
 

Last edited by Ungn; 05-09-2019 at 08:40 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Dutchy (05-10-2019)
  #12  
Old 05-10-2019, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: south woodford
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Rough idling when starting from cold!.

The same error code returned after doing the ecu reset. Also it's the same problem as before. When you start the car it runs rough like it's misfiring and tries to stall. When you put the throttle down it clears and does not stall. Then it drives fine. It only does this when first starting the car not when the engine is warm still.
 

Last edited by mat32essex; 05-10-2019 at 06:38 PM.
  #13  
Old 05-11-2019, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: south woodford
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Car starts ok but stutters when put foot hard on the throttle!.

The car starts fine and does not run rough anymore. But when I put my foot hard on the throttle the car stutters like it's not getting enough fuel.
 
  #14  
Old 05-18-2019, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: smithfield ri usa
Posts: 369
Received 73 Likes on 55 Posts
Default

Did you change the coolant sensor yet its cheap enough. no need to drain coolant just unplug it put a rag under it then remove old one then screw the new one in, very little coolant loss. coolant sensor is overlooked most of the time. A new one make a big difference to running smoothly
 
The following users liked this post:
A.J.P (05-19-2019)
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mat32essex
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
35
05-17-2018 10:22 PM
Lubino Do Rego
X-Type ( X400 )
2
01-30-2016 03:04 AM
Rodney Gold
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
5
01-22-2016 06:31 AM
abartl22
X-Type ( X400 )
10
01-04-2016 06:15 PM
the almiesta
XJ40 ( XJ81 )
8
03-18-2008 01:58 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Petrol smell exhaust!.


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: